ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS OF THE CALIFORNIA BUILDING STANDARDS COMMISSION

1-319. Petition processing by the Commission and agencies.

(a) Within 45 days after receiving a petition, the Commis-
sion shall determine whether the petition meets the require-
ments of this article for petitions and provide the petitioner
written notification.

(b) If the Commission determines that the petition does not
meet the requirements of this article for petitions, the petition
shall be returned to the petitioner without action but with writ-
ten notification including itemization of the missing or incom-
plete items.

(c) If the Commission determines that the petition meets the
requirements of this article for petitions, the Commission shall
provide the petitioner notification of the acceptance of the peti-
tion and planned action.

(d) The Commission shall act on the accepted petition by
commencing a rulemaking process, or shall forward a com-
plete petitions to the appropriate proposing agency or adopting
agency having specific jurisdiction for the subject of the peti-
tion.

(e) The proposing agency or adopting agency shall have 45
days following receipt of the petition from the Commission to
dispute the determination of completeness and/or the Commis-
sion’s determination of jurisdiction. If the agency determines
that the petition is incomplete, it shall, by the close of business
on the 45th day following receipt of the petition, return the peti-
tion to the Commission, with an itemization of the missing or
incomplete items, and the Commission shall return the petition
to the petitioner within 30 days of receiving the returned peti-
tion without action in accordance with the procedures provided
in subparagraph (b) above.

(f) The Commission shall maintain records relating to the
submittal and disposition of petitions received by the Commis-
sion.

Authority: Health and Safety Code Sections 18931 and 18949.6.
Reference: Health and Safety Code Sections 18931 and 18949.6.
HISTORY:

1. (BSC 2/93) Regular order by the California Building Standards Com-
mission to adopt Section 1-804, Part 1, Title 24, California Code of
Regulations. Approved by Office of Administrative Law on January 27,
1995; filed at the Secretary of State on January 27, 1995; effective 30
days thereafter, which will be February 26, 1995. Publication date April
24, 1995.

1-321. Petition processing by agencies. Upon receiving a
petition referred by the Commission, or a petition received
directly from a petitioner, the proposing agency or adopting
agency shall be responsible for the following duties:

(a) If the proposing agency or adopting agency disagrees
with the Commission’s determination that a petition is com-
plete, or if the proposing agency or adopting agency believes
the petition is in the jurisdiction of a different agency, the pro-
posing agency or adopting agency shall notify the Commission
no more than 45 days after receiving a petition.
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(b) If the proposing agency or adopting agency determines
that a petition received directly from the public does not meet
the requirements of this article for petitions, the agency shall
provide the petitioner written notification of the determination
with itemization of the missing or incomplete items. The
agency shall provide the Commission a copy of the notifica-
tion.

(c) If the proposing agency or adopting agency determines
thatithas jurisdiction and that a received petition is complete, it
shall take one of the following actions, communicating with the
petitioner and Commission, within the noted time lines:

1. The agency may reject, accept or approve a petition in
part and may grant such other relief or take such other
action as it may determine to be warranted by the peti-
tion and shall notify the petitioner and Commission in
writing of such action.

2. If the agency denies the petition for cause pursuant to
Section 1-323 of this article [Criteria for Denying a
Public Petition for Cause], it shall do so in writing
within 45 days after the date of receiving the petition
from the petitioner, or the referral by the Commission.

3. Ifthe agency accepts the petition, it shall notify the peti-
tioner and Commission in writing within 45 days after
the date of receiving the petition. For the purposes of
this section, accepting the petition indicates that the
agency believes the issue(s) merit proceeding to code
development as prescribed in this chapter.

4. If the approved petition contains an emergency clause,
the agency shall also rule on the existence of an emer-
gency, and if it concurs that an emergency exists, shall
schedule code development and adoption procedures
on an emergency basis.

Authority: Health and Safety Code Sections 18931, 18949.1, 18949.2,
18949.3, 18949.5 and 18949.6, Statutes of 1990.

Reference: Health and Safety Code Section 18931 and 18949.6.
HISTORY:

1. (BSC 2/93) Regular order by the California Building Standards Com-
mission to adopt Section 1-803, Part 1, Title 24, California Code of
Regulations. Approved by Office of Administrative Law on January 27,
1995; filed at the Secretary of State on January 27, 1995; effective 30
days thereafter, which will be February 26, 1995. Publication date April
24, 1995.

1-323. Criteria for denying a petition. The Commission, pro-
posing agency or adopting agency, whichever is processing a
petition, may deny a petition for cause using at least one of the
following criteria:

(a) The subject building standard is already scheduled for
review at the nextregular triennial or other scheduled adoption.
To substantiate this criterion, the Commission or agency shall
include in its written denial a schedule for the planned review.
Alternatively, the agency may approve a petition but defer its
implementation until the next scheduled adoption.
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(b) The issues cited by the petitioner are factually incorrect.
To substantiate this criterion, the Commission or agency shall
identify in its written denial the incorrect facts.

(c) The issues cited by the petitioner are not within the State's

| | jurisdiction. To substantiate this criterion, the Commission or

agency shall show in its written denial why the issues are out-
side its jurisdiction.

(d) The issues cited by the petitioner have been raised and
answered through another petition or during the previous
rulemaking. To substantiate this criterion, the Commission or
agency shall include with its written denial a copy of the previ-
ous petition and its response or the pertinent rulemaking file
information.

Note: If new facts or substantiating data, pertinent to a peti-
tion, are provided, this criterion shall not be grounds for
denying a petition.

(e) Resolving the issues raised by the petitioner would com-
promise the agency’s ability to carry out its legal mandate. To
substantiate this criterion, the Commission or agency shall
include with its denial the specific ways in which its legal man-
date would be compromised.

(f) The building standard proposed by the petitioner would
create unnecessary hardship or expense; inappropriately
exclude materials, equipment or brands; include only specific
brands; conflict with federal or state laws or regulations or
existing building standards; or the building standard is other-
wise without merit and public benefit.

Authority: Health and Safety Code Sections 18931 and 18949.6.
Reference: Health and Safety Code Sections 18931 and 18949.6.
HISTORY:

1. (BSC 2/93) Regular order by the California Building Standards Com-
mission to adopt Section 1-806, Part 1, Title 24, California Code of
Regulations. Approved by Office of Administrative Law on January 27,
1995; filed at the Secretary of State on January 27, 1995; effective 30
days thereafter, which will be February 26, 1995. Publication date April
24, 1995.

1-325. Reconsideration of denied petition. A petitioner may
request reconsideration of any part or all of a decision of any
proposing or adopting agency or the Commission on any
denied petition. Any such request shall be submitted in accor-
dance with these petition procedures and shall include the rea-
son or reasons why the decision to deny the petition should be
reconsidered. Such request for reconsideration must be sub-
mitted no later than 60 days after the date of the decision
involved. The agency’s or Commission’s reconsideration of
any matter relating to a petition shall be subject to the provi-
sions of this article.

Authority: Health and Safety Code Sections 18931, 18945, and 18949.6.
Reference: Health and Safety Code Sections 18931, 18945, and 18949.6.
HISTORY:

1. (BSC 2/93) Regular order by the California Building Standards Com-
mission to adopt Section 1-807, Part 1, Title 24, California Code of
Regulations. Approved by Office of Administrative Law on January 27,
1995; filed at the Secretary of State on January 27, 1995; effective 30
days thereafter, which will be February 26, 1995. Publication date April
24, 1995.

1-327. Reconsideration by the commission.

(a) The Commission shall have no authority to reevaluate or
reverse the decisions on petitions made by a proposing agency or
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adopting agency when the subject of the petition is within the
specific jurisdiction of the proposing agency or adopting agency.

(b) Requests for the reconsideration of a decision by the
commission shall meet the requirements of Section 1-325 of
this article.

(c) Should the Commission reverse its previous decision
made on a petition, the petition shall be considered accepted and
a rulemaking process shall begin as provided in this chapter.

Authority: Health and Safety Code Sections 18931, 18945, and 18949.6.
Reference: Health and Safety Code Sections 18931, 18945, and 18949.6.
HISTORY:

1. (BSC 2/93) Regular order by the California Building Standards Com-
mission to adopt Section 1-808, Part 1, Title 24, California Code of
Regulations. Approved by Office of Administrative Law on January 27,
1995; filed at the Secretary of State on January 27, 1995; effective 30
days thereafter, which will be February 26, 1995. Publication date April
24, 1995.

1-329. Substitution of or supplementation by agency proce-
dures.

(a) The provisions of this article pertaining to petitions shall
not apply when an agency notifies the Commission that a peti-
tion process is mandated by specific statutes in addition to Gov-
ernment Code Sections 11340.6 and 11340.7, and/or that it has
adopted its own regulations or procedures complying with
Government Code Sections 11340.6 and 11340.7, and that it
has notified the public of the existence of these statutes, regula-
tions or procedures. Notification to the Commission shall con-
sist of a written copy of such statutes, regulations or procedures
and a description of the methods used to make the public aware
of their existence. Upon such notification, the Commission
shall exclude the agency from compliance with this Article per-
taining to Petitions. If the Commission receives a petition per-
taining to an excluded agency’s jurisdiction, the Commission
shall forward the petition without undertaking any of the duties
prescribed by this Article pertaining to petitions directly to the
agency and shall notify the petitioner of that fact.

(b) These regulations are not intended to be the sole means
by which the proposing agency or adopting agencies and the
interested public can raise, discuss and resolve issues pertain-
ing to building standards. Agency procedures such as public
participation meetings, advisory committees, written and ver-
bal correspondence between members of the public and agency
personnel, and other methods are considered alternatives that
may be chosen by a member of the public instead of or in addi-
tion to the petition procedures described in this Article.

Authority: Health and Safety Code Sections 18931 and 18949.6.
Reference: Health and Safety Code Sections 18931 and 18949.6.
HISTORY:

1. (BSC 2/93) Regular order by the California Building Standards Com-
mission to adopt Section 1-809, Part 1, Title 24, California Code of
Regulations. Approved by Office of Administrative Law on January 27,
1995; filed at the Secretary of State on January 27, 1995; effective 30
days thereafter, which will be February 26,1995. Publication date April
24, 1995.
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