
STATE OF CALIFO4NIA 

OATH OF ALLEGIANCE AND DECLARATION OF PERMISSION TO WORK 
FOR PERSONS EMPLOYED BY THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
STD. 689 (REV. 10-97) 

Oath may be administered by a person having general authority by law to administer oaths—or may be 
administered by the appointing power, or by a person for whom written authorization to witness oaths has been 
executed by the appointing power. The appointing power maintains a file of such authorizations. 

PART 1—OATH OF ALLEGIANCE 
TO BE COMPLETED BY UNITED STATES CITIZENS ONLY 

WHO MUST SIGN OATH --As required in Section 3 of Article XX of the Constitution of California, every State employee except 
legally employed noncitizens, must sign the following oath or affirmation before he or she enters upon the duties of his or her State 
employment. Noncitizens are required to possess a Declaration of Permission to Work. If an alien employee becomes a naturalized 
citizen, an oath must then be obtained and filed. 

WHEN OATH MUST BE SIGNED --As required in Government Code Section 3102, all public employees and all volunteers in any 
disaster council or emergency organization accredited by the California Emergency Council must sign an oath or affirmation before 
entering upon the duties of their employment. For intermittent, temporary or emergency employments, an oath or affirmation may, 
at the discretion of the employing agency, be effective for all successive periods of employment which commence within one 
calendar year from the date of the oath. 

OATH OF ALLEGIANCE (Type or print name of employee)—Then complete Part 3. 

I, , do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend 
the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of California against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that 
I will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of California; that I take 
this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties 
upon which I am about to enter. 

WHERE OATHS ARE FILED --As required in Government Code Section 3105, all oaths for public employees and all volunteers 
in any disaster council or emergency organization accredited by the California Emergency Council, shall be filed in the official 
employee file within 30 days of the date the oath is executed. The oath is considered a public record. 

FAILURE TO SIGN --As stated in Government Code Section 3107, no compensation or reimbursement for expenses incurred shall 
be paid to any public employee or any volunteer in any disaster council or emergency organization accredited by the California 
Emergency Council unless such public employee has taken and subscribed to the oath or affirmation. 

PENALTIES  (Government Code) 

"3108. Every person who, while taking and subscribing to the oath or affirmation required by this chapter, states as true 
any material matter which he knows to be false, is guilty of perjury, and is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison 
not less than one nor more than 14 years." 

PART 2—DECLARATION OF PERMISSION TO WORK 
TO BE COMPLETED BY LEGALLY EMPLOYED NONCITIZENS ONLY 

I am a lawful permanent resident alien of the United States. YES NO 

If NO, please read the following: 

I hereby certify, that I have permission to work in this country and have declared any restrictions placed upon me in this regard 
by the United States government to the appointing power. 

PART 3—SIGNATURE AND CERTIFICATION  (No fee may be charged for administering)

TO BE COMPLETED BY UNITED STATES CITIZENS AND LEGALLY EMPLOYED NONCITIZENS


EMPLOYEE'S SIGNATURE 

AUTHORIZED OFFICIAL'S SIGNATURE 

AUTHORIZED OFFICIAL'S TITLE 

Taken and subscribed before me this 

Day of 

(SEAL) 

STATE DEPARTMENT OR AGENCY DIVISION/UNIT 
✍ 

✍ 
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