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BEFORE THE 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 
 
 
In the Matter of: 
 
CLAIMANT, 
 
and 
 
INLAND REGIONAL CENTER, 
 

 
 

OAH No. 2014061191 

                                          Service Agency. 
 

 

 
 

DECISION 
 
 Administrative Law Judge Abraham M. Levy, Office of Administrative Hearings, State 
of California, heard this matter on October 30, 2014, in Riverside, California. 
  
 Leigh-Ann Pierce, Consumer Services Coordinator, represented the Inland Regional 
Center (IRC). 
 
 Claimant’s mother represented claimant, who was present at the hearing. 
 
 The matter was submitted on October 30, 2014. 
 
 

ISSUE 
 
 The Department of Developmental Services sets $11 per hour as the rate to be paid 
for personal assistance services.  Is IRC required to pay claimant’s vendor a higher rate? 
 
 

FACTUAL FINDINGS 
 
 1. Claimant is a 22-year-old conserved female who qualifies for regional center 
services due to moderate mental retardation and the chronic medical conditions of Esophagitis 
and convulsions.  Claimant transferred to IRC from Westside Regional Center on February 1, 
2014. 
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 2. Claimant is dependent on others and requires someone to be available to assist 
her 24 hours per day due to safety issues, her deficits in health, and her physical and mental 
limitations.  Claimant has been, and currently is, receiving regional center services in 
combination with services from other agencies. 
 
Procedural History 
 
 3. On May 20, 2014, IRC issued a proposed notice of action that denied claimant’s 
request that IRC pay claimant’s vendor the same hourly rate claimant’s vendor received from 
Westside Regional Center for personal assistant services.  As explained in the notice of 
proposed action, claimant transferred from Westside Regional Center to IRC.  Westside 
Regional Center paid claimant’s vendor $13 per hour.  IRC stated that it could not pay 
claimant’s vendor more than $11 per hour because the Department of Developmental Services 
(DDS) set $11 an hour as the rate IRC may pay for personal assistant services.  IRC noted that 
claimant’s vendor informed IRC that it could not provide services for $11 an hour.  On June 26, 
2014, claimant requested a fair hearing.  In her fair hearing request, she asked that IRC pay the 
claimant’s vendor the same rate for personal assistant services Westside Regional Center paid.   
 
 4. On July 17, 2014, IRC filed a motion to dismiss claimant’s fair hearing request.  
IRC argued that claimant’s fair hearing request is not proper under Welfare and Institutions 
Code section 4710 because IRC did not plan to reduce, terminate, or change the amount of 
services claimant receives.  IRC also argued that claimant cannot challenge the rate IRC pays 
claimant’s vendor because DDS sets that rate.  On July 31, 2014, Presiding Administrative Law 
Judge Robert Walker denied IRC’s motion without prejudice.   
. 
Tesa Paterson, IRC Program Manager 
 
 5. Tesa Paterson is Program Manager for Resource Development and 
Transportation at IRC.  She has a master’s degree in public administration.  Her role is to 
oversee the development of programs for consumers.  Among her duties, Ms. Paterson 
negotiates with vendors regarding the amount IRC will pay for specific services.  
 
 Ms. Paterson participated in negotiations with claimant’s vendor, Premier, for claimant’s 
personal assistance services.  Premier signed a contract on March 24, 2014.  In this contract 
Premier accepted an $11 per hour rate for personal assistance hours for claimant effective 
February 2014 through June 30, 2014. 1  No evidence was presented that this agreement has not 
continued to remain in effect.  Ms. Paterson noted that a vendor can make a health and safety 
request appeal if it believes a higher rate is necessary to ensure the welfare and safety of a 
consumer.  Premier did not appeal this rate.  Ms. Paterson added that the rate Premier pays its 
employees, claimant’s care providers, is between Premier and its employees.   
                     
 1 In its proposed notice of action, IRC said that Premier would not provide services to 
claimant at $11 per hour.  This statement is not accurate because Premier signed an 
agreement on March 24, 2014 that set $11 per hour as the rate IRC would pay Premier for 
claimant’s personal assistant hours.  
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 DDS set the maximum rate of $11 that IRC may pay for personal assistance hours.  IRC 
does not have discretion to pay a higher rate.  This rate is set by catchment areas and varies 
from one area to another.  DDS has allowed Westside Regional Center to pay a higher rate for 
personal assistance services than IRC may pay.  
 
The Testimony of Claimant’s Mother 
 
 6. Claimant’s mother is a committed advocate for her daughter.  She wants the 
same personal assistant care providers claimant had in Los Angeles to continue to provide 
personal assistant care for claimant now that she lives in Riverside County.  She did not dispute 
that claimant continues to receive 140 hours of personal assistance hours per month through 
IRC.  Claimant also receives 30 hours of respite care per month; she attends a day program, and 
she has curb to curb transportation to the day program.  In addition, claimant receives 260 hours 
of In Home Supportive Services per month.   
 
 Claimant’s mother did not explain why the personal assistant providers from Los 
Angeles must continue to provide personal care assistance for claimant now that she lives in 
Riverside.  She also did not submit evidence that these personal care assistants would not 
continue to care for claimant.   
 
 

LEGAL CONCLUSIONS 
 
The Burden and Standard of Proof  
 

1. Each party asserting a claim or defense has the burden of proof for establishing 
the facts essential to that specific claim or defense.  (Evid. Code, §§ 110, 500.)  In this case, the 
claimant bears the burden of demonstrating that IRC is required to pay claimant’s vendor more 
than $11 per hour for personal assistance services.  

 
2. The standard by which each party must prove those matters is the 

“preponderance of the evidence” standard.  (Evid. Code, § 115.)  A preponderance of the 
evidence means that the evidence on one side outweighs or is more than the evidence on the 
other side, not necessarily in number of witnesses or quantity, but in its persuasive effect on 
those to whom it is addressed.  (People ex rel. Brown v. Tri-Union Seafoods, LLC (2009) 171 
Cal.App.4th 1549, 1567.)  

 
The Lanterman Act  
 

3. Pursuant to the Lanterman Developmental Disabilities Services Act, the State of 
California accepts responsibility for persons with developmental disabilities.  (Welf. & Inst. 
Code, § 4500, et seq.)  The purpose of the Act is to rectify the problem of inadequate treatment 
and services for the developmentally disabled and to enable developmentally disabled 
individuals to lead independent and productive lives in the least restrictive setting possible.  
(Welf. & Inst. Code, §§ 4501, 4502; Association for Retarded Citizens v. Department of 
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Developmental Services (1985) 38 Cal.3d 384.)  The Act is a remedial statute; as such it must 
be interpreted broadly.  (California State Restaurant Association v. Whitlow (1976) 58 
Cal.App.3d 340, 347.)  

 
4. When an individual is found to have a developmental disability under the 

Lanterman Act, the State of California, through a regional center, accepts responsibility for 
providing services to that person to support his or her integration into the mainstream life in the 
community.  (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 4501.)  The Lanterman Act acknowledges the 
“complexities” of providing services and supports to people with developmental disabilities “to 
ensure that no gaps occur in . . . [the] provision of services and supports.” (Welf. & Inst. Code, 
§ 4501.)   

 
5. Welfare and Institutions Code section 4501 states:  
 

“Services and supports” are defined in Welfare and Institutions 
Code section 4512, subdivision (b):  
 
‘Services and supports for persons with developmental 
disabilities’ means specialized services and supports or special 
adaptations of generic services and supports directed toward the 
alleviation of a developmental disability or toward the social, 
personal, physical, or economic habilitation or rehabilitation of an 
individual with a developmental disability, or toward the 
achievement and maintenance of independent, productive, and 
normal lives. . . .  Services and supports listed in the individual 
program plan may include, but are not limited to, . . . personal 
care, day care, special living arrangements, . . .protective and 
other social and sociolegal services, information and referral 
services, . . . [and] supported living arrangements . . . .  

 
6. The Lanterman Act also places “high priority” on providing opportunities for 

adults with developmental disabilities, regardless of the degree of disability, to live “in their 
own homes” with “support available as often and for as long as it is needed.”  (Welf. & Inst. 
Code, § 4689.)  The range of supported living services and supports identified under Welfare 
and Institutions Code section 4689, subdivision (c), includes “recruiting, training, and hiring 
individuals to provide personal care and other assistance, including in-home supportive services 
workers, paid neighbors, and paid roommates; [and] providing respite and emergency relief for 
personal care attendants . . . .”  Personal assistance is a service and support option that may be 
provided where it would “result in greater self-sufficiency for the consumer and cost-
effectiveness to the state.”  (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 4648, subd. (a)(11).)  
 
 
 
// 
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Limits on the Rates Regional Centers May Pay Service Providers 
 

7. Welfare and Institutions Code section 4691.9, subdivision (a), reads as follows:  
 

(a) Notwithstanding any other law or regulation, commencing 
July 1, 2008: 
 
(1) A regional center shall not pay an existing service provider, 
for services where rates are determined through a negotiation 
between the regional center and the provider, a rate higher than 
the rate in effect on June 30, 2008, unless the increase is 
required by a contract between the regional center and the 
vendor that is in effect on June 30, 2008, or the regional center 
demonstrates that the approval is necessary to protect the 
consumer's health or safety and the department has granted prior 
written authorization. 
 
(2) A regional center shall not negotiate a rate with a new 
service provider, for services where rates are determined 
through a negotiation between the regional center and the 
provider, that is higher than the regional center's median rate for 
the same service code and unit of service, or the statewide 
median rate for the same service code and unit of service, 
whichever is lower.  The unit of service designation shall 
conform with an existing regional center designation or, if none 
exists, a designation used to calculate the statewide median rate 
for the same service.  The regional center shall annually certify 
to the State Department of Developmental Services its median 
rate for each negotiated rate service code, by designated unit of 
service. This certification shall be subject to verification through 
the department's biennial fiscal audit of the regional center. . . .  

 
8. California Code of Regulations, title 17, section 57300, subdivision (d)(1), 

provides as follows:  
 

(d) For those vendors for whom the Department establishes a 
rate, once the vendor has received notice of the rate established 
by the Department, any regional center, or its designee, 
purchasing or intending to purchase services from the vendor 
may negotiate with the vendor the level of payment for services 
provided to its consumers for a specified period of time.  The 
level of payment may be less than but shall not exceed the 
maximum reimbursement possible during the period specified, 
using the rate established by the Department and the units of 
service used by the vendor to charge and invoice the regional 



 6 

center for services provided to consumers as the basis for 
determining the maximum reimbursement possible. 
 
(1) Each regional center and vendor shall mutually agree in 
writing upon the level of payment and the effective date for 
commencing and terminating payment at the agreed upon 
amount. . . .  

 
Evaluation 
 
 Claimant’s appeal is denied.   IRC has not proposed to reduce, terminate, or change 
claimant’s personal assistant services.  (Harbor Regional Center v. Office of Administrative 
Hearings, 210 Cal.App.4th, 293, 312.)  Claimant continues to receive the same amount of 
personal assistant services she received at Westside Regional Center with the same provider, 
Premier.  Premier agreed to accept $11 an hour from IRC to continue to provide these services 
to claimant now that claimant lives in Riverside.  This amount is the maximum IRC may pay 
Premier for claimant’s personal assistance hours, and Premier has not requested a health and 
safety waiver for a greater amount pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code section 4691.9, 
subdivision (a).    
 
 Claimant wants a higher hourly rate to ensure that her care providers in Los Angeles 
continue to provide her with personal assistance services now that she lives in Riverside.  But 
she did not show that these individuals will not continue to provide personal assistance services 
to her and that they, as opposed to providers who now live closer to claimant, must provide 
personal assistant services to her to ensure her self-sufficiency.  
 
 

ORDER 
 
 Claimant’s July 26, 2014 appeal is denied.   
 
 
 
DATED:  November 12, 2014 
 
 
 
       
      _____________________________ 
      ABRAHAM M. LEVY 
      Administrative Law Judge  
      Office of Administrative Hearings 
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NOTICE: 
 
This is a final administrative decision pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code section 
4712.5(b)(2).  Both parties are bound hereby.  Either party may appeal this decision to a 
court of competent jurisdiction within 90 days. 
 
 
 


	ORDER

