BEFORE THE
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of:
CLAIMANT, OAH No. 2015080403
VS.

WESTSIDE REGIONAL CENTER,

Service Agency.

DECISION

This matter was heard by Laurie R. Pearlman, Administrative Law Judge, Office of
Administrative Hearings, State of California, on August 24, 2015, in Culver City, California.

Westside Regional Center (WRC or Service Agency) was represented by Lisa Basiri,
Fair Hearing Specialist. Claimant was present at the hearing and was represented by her
parents.

Oral and documentary evidence was received, and argument was heard. The record
was closed, and the matter was submitted for decision on August 24, 2015.

ISSUE

Should WRC be required to increase in-home respite hours for Claimant from 28
hours per month to 56 hours per month?

EVIDENCE
Documentary: Service Agency’s exhibits 1-7 and Claimant’s exhibit A.

Testimonial: Lisa Basiri and Claimant’s mother and father.

! Titles are used instead of names in order to protect Claimant’s privacy.



FACTUAL FINDINGS

1. Claimant is nearly five-months-old. She has been diagnosed with Down
Syndrome and sleep apnea. Claimant has decreased muscle tone and a moderate ventricular
septal defect (VSD). She has a bicuspid aortic valve, rather than three leaflets. This cardiac
issue causes rapid breathing and sweating, longer feedings, and poor weight gain. She will
soon undergo open-heart surgery to correct this defect. She does not take any prescribed
medications or require the use of any specialized medical equipment. Claimant lives at home
with her parents.

2. Claimant is a consumer of WRC. She is eligible for services pursuant to the
California Early Intervention Services Act (Early Start), Government Code section 95000, et
seg., and the Lanterman Developmental Disabilities Services Act (Lanterman Act), Welfare
and Institutions Code, section 4500, et seq.

3. An Early Start Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) was developed for
Claimant on June 9, 2015. Respite services, which are not defined as an Early Start service
under Government Code section 95020, subdivision (e)(3), were not mentioned in
Claimant’s IFSP. However, since Claimant has also been found eligible for services under
the Lanterman Act, WRC may provide respite care to her under that provision.

4a.  Father requested 81 hours per month of in-home respite care. On June 18,
2015, the request was reviewed by WRC’s Purchase of Service Committee (Committee).
The Committee granted 28 hours of in-home respite care per month to Claimant as an
exception, due to Claimant’s care needs resulting from her VSD and sleep apnea.

4b.  OnJune 22, 2015, WRC issued a Notice of Proposed Action (NOPA) denying
Claimant’s request for 81 hours per month of respite care. However, WRC approved 28
hours per month of respite care for Claimant.

4c.  On August 4, 2015, Father filed a Fair Hearing Request (FHR) on behalf of
Claimant, seeking an increase of respite hours from 28 hours per month to 56 hours per
month. This hearing ensued. All jurisdictional requirements have been met.

5. Mother works full-time and Father is currently at home. He provides care for
Claimant; does laundry, cooks, and washes dishes; meets with apartment maintenance
workers; coordinates appointments for Claimant’s occupational therapy, physical therapy,
and doctors; and deals with insurance issues. At the same time, Father is also attempting to
run a new home-based business to help with the family’s finances. Claimant’s parents
asserted that Claimant needs additional quality care to enable Father to handle all of these
tasks. Claimant’s parents have no family members in California.

6. WRC'’s stated reasons for the proposed action are that a regional center may
purchase respite services under the Lanterman Act only when the care and supervision of a
client exceed that of an individual of the same chronological age without developmental



disabilities. Respite is a supplement to the family’s responsibility for care. It is not intended
to provide for all supervised care needs of the family, nor is it a replacement for daycare.
Moreover, under the Lanterman Act, a regional center cannot purchase more than 30 hours
per month of in-home respite care.

7. WRC determined that Claimant’s needs do not exceed that of an infant of the
same chronological age who is not developmentally disabled. However, the Service Agency
granted an exception in order to provide Claimant with 28 hours per month of respite care
because Claimant’s ventricular septal defect requires almost constant attention and can cause
apnea episodes several times per day. (Service Agency Exhibit 3.)

8. Thirty hours per month of in-home respite is the maximum allowed by statute,
absent an exception. WRC denied the request for 56 hours of respite per month because
Claimant’s parents have parental responsibility, as do parents of typically-developing peers,
to care for an infant and to utilize the generic resources available to them in providing care
for her. Her parents did not establish that additional respite, beyond 28 hours per month, is
necessary to maintain Claimant in the family home due to the intensity of Claimant’s care
and supervision needs, or that an “extraordinary event” impacts their ability to meet
Claimant’s care and supervision needs.

LEGAL CONCLUSIONS

1. Cause exists to deny Claimant’s appeal of the Service Agency’s denial of
additional in-home respite hours. (Factual Findings 1 through 8.)

2. An administrative hearing to determine the rights and obligations of the
parties, if any, is available under the Lanterman Act to appeal a contrary regional center
decision. (Welf. & Inst. Code, 88§ 4700-4716.) Claimant timely requested a hearing on
receipt of the Service Agency’s denial of funding additional in-home respite hours, and
therefore, jurisdiction for this appeal was established.

3. The standard of proof in this case is the preponderance of the evidence,
because no law or statute (including the Lanterman Act) requires otherwise. (Evid. Code, 8§
115.)

4. When a party seeks government benefits or services, he bears the burden of
proof. (See, e.g., Lindsay v. San Diego Retirement Bd. (1964) 231 Cal.App.2d 156, 161
[disability benefits].) Specifically, in a case where a party is seeking funding not previously
provided or approved by a regional center, that party bears the burden of proof. In this case,
Claimant made a new request for the Service Agency to fund 56 hours of in-home respite.
Claimant therefore bears the burden of proof. She failed to meet this burden.
Il
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Respite Services and Hours

5. Under the Lanterman Act, the State of California accepts responsibility for
persons with developmental disabilities. The Lanterman Act mandates that an “array of
services and supports should be established . . . to meet the needs and choices of each person
with developmental disabilities . . . and to support their integration into the mainstream life
of the community.” (Welf. and Instit. Code, 8 4501.) These services and supports are
provided by the state’s regional centers. (Welf. and Instit. Code, 84620, subd. (a).)

6. Respite is one of the specific services available to consumers listed in Welfare
and Institutions Code section 4512, subdivision (b). In Welfare and Institutions Code section
4690.2, subdivision (a), “In-home respite services” are defined as “ or regularly scheduled
temporary nonmedical care and supervision provided in the client’s own home, . . .” designed
to do all of the following:

(1) Assist family members in maintaining the client at home.

(2) Provide appropriate care and supervision to ensure the client’s safety in the
absence of family members.

(3) Relieve family members from the constantly demanding responsibility of
caring for the client.

(4) Attend to the client’s basic self-help needs and other activities of daily
living including interaction, socialization, and continuation of usual daily
routines which would ordinarily be performed by the family members.

An almost identical definition of in-home respite services is found in
California Code of Regulations, title 17, section 54302, subdivision (a)(38).

The statutory and regulatory definitions of in-home respite services clearly
indicate that the primary goal of respite is to provide care to a consumer that is ordinarily
provided by the consumer’s family, thereby relieving the family from that duty so that the
family may absent themselves and be free to do other things.

7. In the Budget Act of 2009, the Legislature responded to the state’s difficult
economic situation by making significant changes in services under the Lanterman Act.
With respect to respite services, Welfare and Institutions Code section 4686.5, subdivision
(a), was added, retroactive to July 1, 2009, to provide, in relevant part:

(2) A regional center shall not purchase . . . more than 90 hours of in-home
respite services in a quarter, for a consumer.

(3)(A) A regional center may grant an exemption to the requirements set forth
in [paragraph] (2) if it is demonstrated that the intensity of the consumer’s care



and supervision needs are such that additional respite is necessary to maintain
the consumer in the family home, or there is an extraordinary event that
impacts the family member’s ability to meet the care and supervision needs of
the consumer.

8. Welfare and Institutions Code section 4686.5 thus requires the Service Agency
to limit the purchase of in-home respite services to 90 hours per quarter, or 30 hours per
month, unless the Service Agency determines that claimant meets the criteria for, and grants
claimant, an exemption.

9. Claimant’s parents did not provide sufficient evidence that she was entitled to
56 respite hours per month. They did not prove any exceptional circumstances that would
justify an exception beyond the 28 hours of respite per month that has already been granted
by WRC.

10.  Welfare and Institutions Code section 4686.5 provides:

(a) Effective July 1, 2009, notwithstanding any other provision of law
or regulation to the contrary, all of the following shall apply:

(1) A regional center may only purchase respite hours when the
care and supervision needs of a consumer exceed that of an
individual of the same age without developmental disabilities.

(2) A regional center shall not purchase more than . . . 90 hours
of in-home respite services in a quarter, for a consumer.

(3)(A) A regional center may grant an exemption to the
requirements set forth in paragraphs (1) and (2) if it is
demonstrated that the intensity of the consumer’s care and
supervision needs are such that additional respite is necessary to
maintain the consumer in the family home, or there is an
extraordinary event that impacts the family member’s ability to
meet the care and supervision needs of the consumer.

(... 1]

(4) A regional center shall not purchase day care services to
replace or supplant respite services. For purposes of this
section, “day care” is defined as regularly provided care,
protection, and supervision of a consumer living in the home of
his or her parents, for periods of less than 24 hours per day,
while the parents are engaged in employment outside of the
home or educational activities leading to employment, or both.



11.  Claimant is seeking 56 hours of in-home respite, which may be allowed
if the regional center grants an exemption to the statutory limitation. However,
Claimant has not established that an exemption must be granted. The evidence did
not establish that “the intensity of the consumer’s care and supervision needs [is] such
that additional respite is necessary to maintain the consumer in the family home,” or
that “there is an extraordinary event that impacts the family member’s ability to meet
the care and supervision needs of the consumer.”

12.  Given the foregoing, WRC appropriately denied Claimant’s request for
additional in-home respite hours.

ORDER

Westside Regional Center’s denial of funding for Claimant’s additional in-home
respite hours is upheld, and Claimant’s appeal is denied.

DATED: September 3, 2015

LAURIE R. PEARLMAN
Administrative Law Judge
Office of Administrative Hearings

NOTICE

This is the final administrative decision; both parties are bound by this decision.
Either party may appeal this decision to a court of competent jurisdiction within 90 days.
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