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Travel Bulletin:  # 16-02    Effective Date:   March 1, 2016 
        Expiration Date:  Feb. 28, 2018 
 

 
SUBJECT: Commercial Car Rental (CCR) Services Contract  
 
PURPOSE:   Notification of the CCR Contract, Short-term and Long-term Rate Changes 
 
REFERENCE:   Agreement No. 5159905 
 

 
 

Overview 
 

 

This Travel Bulletin announces the award of the Department of General Services 
(DGS) statewide and national Commercial Car Rental (CCR) contract with EAN 
Services, LLC (Enterprise Rent-A-Car and National Car Rental). International 
services are not available under the contract. The contract covers a period of 
performance from March 1, 2016 through Feb. 28, 2018 and has three optional 
one-year time extensions. 
 
The new contract provides significant cost savings through discount rental rates 
and insurance coverage as well as enhanced conveniences for travelers through 
express service locations, no one way drop charges, more availability through 
Concur and priority during times of emergency for responding departments.  

 

Base and 
Maximum Cap 
Rates  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

State employees using the CCR contract should first select compact or 
intermediate vehicles over other Vehicle Car Types (VCTs). If rental of other VCTs 
is necessary, refer to the Exceptions section of this bulletin for instructions. Below 
are base and maximum cap rates (MCRs) for Compact and Intermediate VCTs. A 
detailed list of all VCT base and MCRs is attached and posted at: 
http://www.dgs.ca.gov/travel/Programs/RentingaVehicle.aspx 
 
Short-term rental rates (less than 30 days) 
Effective: March 1, 2016 
Base rate $33.00 for compact and intermediate (except in the state of New York) 
MCR $50.00 (all California  airports) 
 

Long-term contract rentals (30 days or more) 
Effective: March 1, 2016 
Base rate $18.34 for compact and intermediate 
Monthly rate $550.00 
 
The “base rate” is the amount the contractor can charge for vehicle rental, not 
including transactional taxes, fees and surcharges. 
The MCR is the maximum daily rate a contractor can charge per VCT rented at 
any California airport. It is comprised of the daily base rate plus fees as applicable  

http://www.dgs.ca.gov/travel/Programs/RentingaVehicle.aspx
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Base and 
Maximum Cap 
Rates (Cont.) 

 
to a specific airport, up to the maximum rate. Sales tax and refueling charges are 
not included in the rate.  

 

Short-term 
Rentals  
 
 

 

Short-term rentals must be booked through CalTravelStore (the state’s contracted 
travel agency) or Concur (the online booking tool).  
 

The CCR services contract provides for express service defined as: 
 

Completed rental agreement and key may be in vehicle or delivered to 
renter by an attendant. Driver’s license checks can be done at the gate, at 
the express service counter where available, by a roving employee of the 
contractor or in any manner consistent with industry/government laws, rules 
and regulations. 

 

Express service is available at the top 14 California airports and three high-
volume, off-airport locations. A list of express service locations and all participating 
locations can be found at:  
http://www.dgs.ca.gov/travel/Programs/RentingaVehicle.aspx 
 

Additional contract benefits include: 
 

 No one-way drop charges.  

 No late, no-show, energy recouping or cancellation charges. 

 Unlimited mileage if the vehicle is returned to the renting location or other 
drop point authorized by the contractor at the time of pickup.  

 Rates are not subject to blackout dates or minimum rental period. 
 

Long-term 
Rentals  
 

 

State departments wanting access to the long-term rates pursuant to the CCR 
services contract will need an approval form that has been signed by the Office of 
Fleet and Asset Management (OFAM) chief or delegate prior to fulfilling a new 
long-term vehicle reservation. In addition, long-term needs should be covered in 
your department’s annual Fleet Acquisition Plan or addendum process.  
See SAM - Transportation Services, Section 4120.  
 

Beginning in Fiscal Year 2012-13, state departments shall submit an electronic Fleet 
Acquisition Plan (FAP) to OFAM each fiscal year for all new and/or existing asset 
replacement needs that have not been previously approved by OFAM. The plan should 
include any long-term rentals or leases of fleet assets. 
 

SAM Section 4120.4: OFAM will accept addendums to an approved FAP from a 

department should fleet needs change during the course of the fiscal year due to 
extraordinary circumstances.   
 
SAM Section 4120.5: Vehicles rented or leased for over 30 consecutive calendar days or 
more than four consecutive work weeks (excluding weekends and holidays) are required to 
be approved through the department’s FAP prior to renting or leasing the vehicle. 
Continually re-renting fleet assets week to week or with a short break after 30 days without 
seeking OFAM approval is prohibited.  
 

An electronic copy of the FAP documents can be found on the DGS website 
located at: http://www.dgs.ca.gov/ofam/Programs/FARS/VehicleAcq.aspx 

http://www.dgs.ca.gov/travel/Programs/RentingaVehicle.aspx
http://www.documents.dgs.ca.gov/sam/SamPrint/new/sam_master/rev433/chap4100/4120.pdf
http://www.dgs.ca.gov/ofam/Programs/FARS/VehicleAcq.aspx
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Alternative 
Fuel Vehicles  

 

Alternative fuel vehicles such as Hybrid Electric vehicles (HEVs), Plug-in Hybrid 
Electric Vehicles (PHEVs), and Zero-Emission Vehicles (ZEVs) are available in 
limited quantities and locations throughout the state. Vehicles, when available, 
may be booked through CalTravelStore or Concur (the online booking tool).  

 

Emergency 
Vehicles 

 

Reservations for emergency vehicles by recognized public agencies as ordered in 
a state of California governor-declared “Proclamation of a State of Emergency” 
shall be made directly with the contractor. 

 

User 
Requirements 

 

For all vehicle rentals, employees are required to provide a current driver license 
and a second form of identification to ensure a smooth delivery of service when 
renting a vehicle. Acceptable second forms of identification can be an employer-
issued identification badge, a business card, a copy of a travel itinerary booked 
through CalTravelStore or Concur (the online booking tool), or an authorization 
letter on department letterhead.  
 

Excluding alternative fuel vehicles, employees shall return a vehicle with the same 
level of fuel it had when it was picked up.   

 

Exceptions  
 
 

 

The following exceptions require state departments to submit an approval form, 
signed by the employee’s supervisor, to the State Controller’s Office (SCO): 
 

 Renting a vehicle larger than the intermediate size. 

 Renting a vehicle from a non-contracted vendor. 

 Needing physical or medical accommodations. 

 Refueling charges incurred at rental branches. 
 

The SCO approval form should be attached to the invoice associated with the 
justification. State departments are no longer required to receive approval from the 
DGS Statewide Travel Program. The Short-term Vehicle Justification Form (SCO 
approval form) is available on the www.dgs.ca.gov/travel website under “Car 
Rentals”.  

 

Additional 
Contract 
Information 

 

Insurance: The contract includes $300,000 in insurance coverage. State 
employees are still required to notify the DGS Office of Risk and Insurance 
Management (ORIM) at (916) 376-5300, if or when an accident in a rental car 
occurs. 
 

Billing and Payment: At the completion of each rental, the contractor will provide 
an itemized receipt of services that will contain all charges for the vehicle.   
 

Each state and optional user will be required to utilize his or her contracted travel 
payment system Car Rental Business Travel Account (CRBTA) for payment. 
 

Each state and optional user is responsible for reviewing monthly billing reports, 
but the DGS Statewide Travel Program will also periodically analyze billing reports 
to ensure accuracy of the contractor’s charges. 

http://www.dgs.ca.gov/travel


4 
 

 

Commercial 
Car Rental 
Contact 

 

EAN Services, LLC 
Lisa Holmes, Account Manager 
(916) 787-4733 
lisa.m.holmes@ehi.com 

 

DGS Statewide 
Travel Program 
Contract 
Administrator 

 

DGS Statewide Travel Program 
Georgia Kattenhorn, Travel Program Specialist 
(916) 376-3990 
georgia.kattenhorn@dgs.ca.gov  
 

 

Attachments 
 

 

Short-term Rental Rate Sheet 
Long-term Rental Rate Sheet 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 

mailto:lisa.m.holmes@ehi.com
mailto:georgia.kattenhorn@dgs.ca.gov
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
SHORT-TERM RENTAL COST TABLE 

EFFECTIVE MARCH, 1, 2016 
 
 
 
 
 

VEHICLE CLASS TYPE: 
 

DAILY WEEKLY 
MAXIMUM 
CAP RATE 

DAILY 

Compact 
 

$33.00 $132.00 $50.00 

Mid-Size/Intermediate 
 

$33.00 $132.00 $50.00 

Full-Size 
 

$35.00 $140.00 $53.00 

Mini Van 
 

$56.00 $224.00 $78.00 

Four Wheel Drive (4WD)/Sport Utility Vehicle 
 

$56.00 $224.00 $78.00 

Pick Up Truck 
 

$70.00 $280.00 $94.00 

Hybrid Electric Vehicle 
 

$42.00 $168.00 $62.00 

Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicle / Zero Emission 
Vehicle 
 

$42.00 $168.00 $62.00 

 
 
Note: The State of New York is exempt from the Base Rate listed above.  Such rates are subject to open 
market rates quoted at time of actual car rental. 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
LONG-TERM RENTAL COST TABLE 

EFFECTIVE MARCH, 1, 2016 
 
 
 
 
VEHICLE CLASS TYPE (VCT):  
 

DAILY WEEKLY MONTHLY 

Compact 
 

$18.34 $128.38 $550.00 

Mid-Size/Intermediate 
 

$18.34 $128.38 $550.00 

Full-Size 
 

$20.00 $140.00 $600.00 

Mini Van 
 

$31.67 $221.69 $950.00 

Four Wheel Drive (4WD)/Sport Utility Vehicle 
 

$26.34 $184.38 $790.00 

Pick Up Truck 
 

$26.34 $184.38 $790.00 

Hybrid Electric Vehicle 
 

$24.17 $169.19 $725.00 

Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicle / Zero Emission 
Vehicle 
 

$24.17 $169.19 $725.00 

 
 
Note: The State of New York is exempt from the Base Rate listed above.  Such rates are subject to open 
market rates quoted at time of actual car rental. 

 

  

 


