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Attached is Personnel Management Liaison Memorandum 2006-047 regarding State Bar membership dues and reimbursement.  Please note the State Bar’s deadline for payment of 2007 membership dues is February 1, 2007.  

Please ensure that this information is distributed to your employees who maybe eligible for reimbursement.  

Any questions should be directed to your assigned Labor Relations staff person.




JINNY MUNRO, Manager
Labor Relations 

JM:JE:je


cc:	Classification and Pay Analysts
	Personnel Transactions


Department of Personnel Administration 
Memorandum 
 
TO:  Personnel Management Liaisons (PML) 
 
	SUBJECT: 
Bar Association Dues Reimbursement 
 
	REFERENCE NUMBER: 
2006-047 

	DATE ISSUED: 
12/06/06 
 
	SUPERSEDES: 
 



 
	This memorandum should be forwarded to:   

   Accounting Officers 
   Employee Relations Officers 
   Travel and Relocation Liaisons 



 
	FROM:  Department of Personnel Administration 
   	  Labor Relations Division 
 

	CONTACT:	Jacquelyn Sanders, Senior Labor Relations Officer 
		(916) 445-9244 
		Fax:  (916) 322-0765 
		Email:  jacquelynsanders@dpa.ca.gov 



 
This memo describes the amount the State will pay toward 2007 State Bar membership dues, and related provisions.  The State Bar’s deadline for payment of 2007 membership dues is February 1, 2007. 
 
1. How much of the 2007 dues will the State pay for? 

 
Departments are required to pay $390 of the 2007 State Bar membership fee of $400 for employees in Bargaining Unit 2 and affiliated excluded employees if State Bar membership is required as a condition of employment. 
 
The State does not pay: 
 
• the $10 portion that funds the State Bar’s lobbying efforts or communications with voluntary bar associations; 

 
• optional donations to the Conference of Delegates of California Bar Associations, Foundation of the State Bar, or the California Supreme Court Historical Society; nor 

 
• penalties resulting from late payment of dues, unless the State is responsible for the late payment. 

For employees who work less than full time, or less than one year, your department may prorate the reimbursement. 
 
2.  Will the State pay local or specialty bar dues? 
 
In addition to the State bar dues described above, the State will pay up to $100 annually for job-related local or specialty bar dues, if State Bar membership is required as a condition of employment.  The employee may be reimbursed for more than one local or specialty bar as long as the total reimbursement does not exceed $100. 
 
Excluded employees may be reimbursed for job-related local or specialty bar dues at the discretion of your department.  In such cases, your department also determines the reimbursable amount.  The amount is prorated for employees working less than full time. 
 
3.  What if State Bar membership is not required as a condition of employment? 
 
For rank-and-file employees in Bargaining Unit 2 who are not required to be members of the State Bar as a condition of employment, your department may provide one of the following: 
 
a. reimbursement of the $390 portion of State Bar dues described in Question 1 (the reimbursable amount for an “inactive” membership would be $115); or 
b. two days of professional leave per calendar year without loss of compensation. 
 
Option “a” is available only for employees who are eligible to be State Bar members.  Unit 2 employees who are not attorneys are entitled to option “b” only. 
 
Your department may prorate professional leave for employees who work less than full time and/or less than a full year. 
 
Professional leave must be requested and approved in the same manner as vacation or annual leave.  Professional leave credit shall not carry over from year to year. 
 
4.  What are the methods of reimbursing or paying bar dues? 
 
Direct payment:  Your department may pay membership fees directly to the State Bar, following the procedures outlined below.  However, use the reimbursement method (described below), not direct payment, for employees choosing to pay any optional fees (itemized on lines 19-23 of the membership dues statement). 
 
a. No later than January 8, 2007 (which is four weeks before the February 1 payment deadline), employees must provide the original remittance (coupon) portion of their membership dues statement to the person designated by your department to handle payment of bar dues.  Lines 19, 20, and 21 must show “0” to indicate that no optional payments are included, and line 22 (“lobbying”) and line 23 (“bar relations and elimination of bias”) must show that $5 has been deducted for each of these items. 

 
b. Prepare a list of employees for whom the department is paying State Bar dues, batch the coupons, and prepare one check for dues and section fees, payable to “California State Bar.”  Send the check, list, and batched coupons together in one envelope addressed to: 

	State Bar of California 
Attention:  Membership Services 
180 Howard Street 
San Francisco, CA  94105-1639 
 
c. If your department receives an employee’s membership dues statement after January 8, 2007, the department still has the option to pay the dues directly, or it may reimburse the employee, as described below.   

Reimbursement:  Your department may reimburse individual employees.  Employees who request reimbursement must include proof of payment, a copy of their annual membership dues statement, and a copy of their membership card. 
 
5.  Are excluded employees entitled to other reimbursement? 
 
In addition to any bar or specialty dues described above, excluded employees are entitled to reimbursement for up to $100 annually for membership dues of a professional organization or for a job-related professional license fee that is directly related to the employee’s professional discipline. 
 
6.  Where can I find more information on this topic? 
 
The information in this memo is based in part on Article 13.7 of the 2005-2007 Bargaining Unit 2 contract and Title 2, sections 599.921 and 599.922.2 of the California Code of Regulations. 
 
If you have further questions, please contact Jacquelyn Sanders at the number or email listed at the top of this memo. 
 
/s/Julie Chapman 
 
Julie Chapman 
Deputy Director of Labor Relations 
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