DES GENERAL SERVICES
HUMAN RESOURCES MEMORANDUM: 10:033

Expiration Date: Until Superseded

Issue Date: December 28, 2010

To: Supervisors and Managers; Personnel Liaisons; Attendance Clerks
Subject: Bar Association Dues Reimbursement
Purpose The purpose of this memorandum is to inform employees of the 2011 State

Bar membership dues reimbursement and related provisions.

Who is Bargaining Unit (BU) 2 employees and affiliated excluded employees if State
Eligible? Bar membership is required as a condition of employment.

Reimbursement The State is required to pay $390 of the $410 2011 State Bar
Amounts and membership fee. Reimbursement may be prorated for employees who
Deadlines work less than full time or less than one year.

The deadline for payment is February 1, 2011.

In addition to State Bar membership dues, the State will pay up to $100
annual for job-related local or specialty bar dues, if State Bar
membership is required as a condition of employment. Additionally, an
employee may be reimbursed for more than one local or specialty bar as
long as the total reimbursement does not exceed $100.

What is not e The $10 portion that funds the State Bar’s lobbying efforts or
Reimbursable communications with voluntary bar associations;
e The $10 contribution for the Temporary Emergency Legal Services
Voluntary Assistance option;
e Optional donations to the Conference of Delegates of California Bar
Associations, Foundation of the State Bar, or the California
Supreme Court Historical Society; nor
¢ Penalties resulting from late payment of dues, unless the State is
responsible for the late payment.




Reimbursement
When State
Bar
Membership is
Not Required

For rank-and-file employees in BU 2 who are not required to be
members of the State Bar as a condition of employment, the department
may provide one of the following:

e Reimbursement of the $390 portion of State Bar dues described
above; or

e Two days of professional leave per calendar year without loss of
compensation.

Reimbursement is only available for employees who are eligible to be
State Bar members. BU 2 employees who are not attorneys are only
entitled to the professional leave described above.

Professional leave will be prorated for employees who work less than full
time and/or less than a full year. Professional leave must be requested
and approved in the same manner as vacation/annual leave.
Professional leave credit shall not carry over from year to year.

Reimbursement
Methods

The department will reimburse those employees who provide proof of
payment, a copy of their annual membership dues statement and a
copy of their membership card.

Direct payment of membership fees may be paid by the department.
Contact the Office of Fiscal Services (OFS), Accounting Office for
instructions regarding direct payment.

Employees choosing to pay any optional fees (itemized on lines 19-
23 of the membership dues statement): No later than January 11,
2011 (which is three weeks before the February 1 payment deadline),
employees must provide the original remittance (coupon) portion of their
membership dues statement to the OFS, Accounting Office to handle
payment of bar dues. Lines 19 and 20 must show “0” to indicate that no
payments are included, Line 21 (“lobbying”) and Line 22 (bar relations
and elimination of bias”) must show that $5.00 has been deducted for
each of these items; and Line 23 (“Temporary Emergency Legal
Services Voluntary Assistance Option”) must show that $10.00 has been
deducted.

Affiliated
Excluded
Employee
Reimbursements

In addition to any bar or specialty dues described above, excluded
employees are entitled to reimbursement for up to $100 annually for
membership dues of a professional organization or for a job-related
professional license that is directly related to the employee’s
professional discipline.
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Questions Direct questions to your assigned Labor Relations consultant.

JILL ELLWOOD/Manager
Office of Human Resources
Labor Relations and Program Improvement

JE:je
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