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HUMAN RESOURCES MEMORANDUM:  12:009 
Expiration Date:  Until Superseded 

 
 
Issue Date: December 26, 2012 
 
To: EMPLOYEES IN BARGAINING UNIT #2 AND AFFILIATED                

EXCLUDED EMPLOYEES 
 
Subject: 2013 State Bar membership dues and related provisions 
 
 

Personnel Liaisons, Attendance Clerks, Supervisors, and Managers 
PLEASE ENSURE THAT THIS INFORMATION IS SHARED WITH YOUR EMPLOYEES 

WITHOUT INTERNET ACCESS. 
 
 
Purpose of 
document 

This memo describes the amount the State will pay toward 2013 State Bar 
membership dues, and related provisions.  The State Bar’s deadline for 
payment of 2013 membership dues is February 1, 2013. 

 
How much 
will the State 
pay?  

Departments are required to pay $380 of the 2013 State Bar membership fee 
of $410 for employees in Bargaining Unit 2 and affiliated excluded employees 
if State Bar membership is required as a condition of employment.  
 
The State does not pay:  

 The $10 portion that funds the State Bar’s lobbying efforts or 
communications with voluntary bar associations;  

 
 The $20 contribution for the Temporary Emergency Legal Services 

Voluntary Assistance option;  
 

 Optional donations to the Conference of Delegates of California Bar 
Associations, Foundation of the State Bar, or the California Supreme 
Court Historical Society; nor  

 
 Penalties resulting from late payment of dues, unless the State is 

responsible for the late payment.  
 

For employees who work less than full time, or less than one year, your 
department may prorate the reimbursement. 
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Will the State 
pay local or 
specialty bar 
dues? 

In addition to the State bar dues described above, the State will pay up to 
$100 annually for job-related local or specialty bar dues, if State Bar 
membership is required as a condition of employment. The employee 
may be reimbursed for more than one local or specialty bar as long as 
the total reimbursement does not exceed $100.  

Excluded employees may be reimbursed for job-related local or specialty 
bar dues at the discretion of your department. In such cases, your 
department also determines the reimbursable amount. The amount is 
prorated for employees working less than full time. 

 
What if State 
Bar 
membership 
is not 
required as a 
condition of 
employment
? 

For rank-and-file employees in Bargaining Unit 2 who are not required to 
be members of the State Bar as a condition of employment, your 
department may provide one of the following:  
 

a. Reimbursement of the $380 portion of State Bar dues described in 
Question 1 (the reimbursable amount for an “inactive” membership 
would be $125); or  

 
b. Professional Development Days (PDD), per Unit 2, Memorandum of 

Understanding, Article XIII, Section 13.24.  
 
Option “a” is available only for employees who are eligible to be State Bar 
members. Unit 2 employees who are not attorneys are entitled to option “b” 
only.  
 
Your department may prorate PDD for employees who work less than full 
time and/or less than a full year.  
 
PDD must be requested and approved in the same manner as vacation or 
annual leave. 

  

 
What are the 
methods of 
reimbursing 
or paying 
bar dues? 

Direct payment 
 
Your department may pay membership fees directly to the State Bar, 
following the procedures outlined below. However, use the reimbursement 
method (described on next page), not direct payment, for employees 
choosing to pay any optional fees (itemized on lines 19-23 of the 
membership dues statement). 
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What are the 
methods of 
reimbursing 
or paying 
bar dues? 
(cont’d) 

 
a. No later than January 11, 2013 (which is three weeks before the 

February 1, 2013 payment deadline), employees must provide the 
original remittance (coupon) portion of their membership dues 
statement to the person designated by your department to handle 
payment of bar dues. Lines 19 and 20 must show “0” to indicate that 
no optional payments are included, and line 21 (“lobbying”) and line 
22 (“bar relations and elimination of bias”) must show that $5 has 
been deducted for each of these items. And finally, Line 23 
(“Temporary Emergency Legal Services Voluntary Assistance 
Option”) must show that $20 has been deducted.  

 
 

b. Prepare a list of employees for whom the department is paying State 
Bar dues, batch the coupons, and prepare one check for dues and 
section fees, payable to “California State Bar.” Send the check, list, 
and batched coupons together in one envelope addressed to:  

 
State Bar of California  
Attention: Membership Services  
180 Howard Street  
San Francisco, CA 94105-1639  
 

c. If your department receives an employee’s membership dues 
statement after January 11, 2013, the department still has the option 
to pay the dues directly, or it may reimburse the employee, as 
described below.  

 
Reimbursement 
Your department may reimburse individual employees. Employees who 
request reimbursement must include proof of payment, a copy of their 
annual membership dues statement, and a copy of their membership card. 
 
Eligible employees, who are off active pay status during the entire open 
enrollment period, may contact their personnel office during the open 
enrollment period to make changes in their dental enrollment or may wait 
and make changes within 60 days after returning to active pay status. 
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Are excluded 
employees 
entitled to 
other 
reimburse-
ment? 

In addition to any bar or specialty dues described above, excluded 
employees are entitled to reimbursement for up to $100 annually for 
membership dues of a professional organization or for a job-related 
professional license fee that is directly related to the employee’s 
professional discipline. 

 
Where can I 
find more 
information 
on this 
topic? 
 

The information in this memo is based in part on Article 13.7 and 13.24 of 
the Bargaining Unit 2 contract and Title 2, sections 599.921 of the 
California Code of Regulations.  

 
Questions If you have any questions, please contact your Personnel Specialist. 

 
 
 
/s/ 
TERRI HAMILTON, Chief 
Office of Human Resources 
 
TH/jal 
 
cc: Personnel Specialists 
      Personnel Liaisons 
      Attendance Clerks 

http://www.calhr.ca.gov/Documents/bu02-20110401-20130701-mou-.pdf
http://government.westlaw.com/linkedslice/default.asp?SP=CCR-1000

	Purpose of document
	How much will the State pay? 
	Will the State pay local or specialty bar dues?
	What if State Bar membership is not required as a condition of employment?
	What are the methods of reimbursing or paying bar dues?
	What are the methods of reimbursing or paying bar dues? (cont’d)
	In addition to any bar or specialty dues described above, excluded employees are entitled to reimbursement for up to $100 annually for membership dues of a professional organization or for a job-related professional license fee that is directly related to the employee’s professional discipline.
	Where can I find more information on this topic?
	Questions

	Are excluded employees entitled to other reimburse-ment?

