
 

 

 

HUMAN RESOURCES MEMORANDUM 13-034 
DATE ISSUED: 

December 27, 2013 
SUBJECT: 

Bar Association Dues Reimbursement 
REFERENCE: 

PML 2013-045 
TO: 

Managers, Supervisors, Personnel Liaisons and Attendance Clerks 
SUPERSEDES: 

HR Memo 12-009 

 
 

PLEASE ENSURE THAT THIS INFORMATION IS SHARED WITH YOUR EMPLOYEES  
 
Purpose The purpose of this memorandum is to inform employees of the 2014 State 

Bar membership dues reimbursement and related provisions. 

 
Deadline The State Bar’s deadline for payment of 2014 membership dues is 

February 3, 2014. 

 
Reimburse-
ment 

Departments are required to pay $380 of the 2014 State Bar membership fee 
of $420 for Bargaining Unit 2 employees and affiliated excluded employees if 
State Bar membership is required as a condition of employment. 
 
The State does not pay: 

• The $10 portion that funds the State Bar’s Legislative Activity ($5) 
and Bar Relations and Elimination of Bias ($5) with voluntary bar 
associations, lines 21 and 22 of the State Bar coupon; 

• The $30 contribution for the Legal Services Assistance option,  
line 23 of the State Bar coupon; 

• Optional donations to the Conference of Delegates of California Bar 
Associations, Foundation of the State Bar, or the California Supreme 
Court Historical Society; nor 

• Penalties resulting from late payment of dues, unless the State is 
responsible for the late payment. 

For employees who work less than full time, or less than one year, your 
department may prorate the reimbursement. 

 
Local or 
Specialty Bar 
Dues 

The State will pay up to $100 annually for job-related local or specialty bar 
dues, if State Bar membership is required as a condition of employment. The 
employee may be reimbursed for more than one local or specialty bar as 
long as the total reimbursement does not exceed $100. 
 
Excluded employees may be reimbursed for job-related local or specialty bar 
dues at the discretion of your department. In such cases, your department 
also determines the reimbursable amount. The department may prorate the 
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amount for employees working less than full time. 

 
Reimburse-
ment when 
State Bar 
Membership 
is not 
Required 

For rank-and-file employees in Bargaining Unit 2 who are not required to be 
members of the State Bar as a condition of employment, your department 
may provide one of the following:  

a. Reimbursement of the $380 portion of State Bar dues described on 
the previous page (the reimbursable amount for an “inactive” 
membership would be $145); or  

b. Two (2) Professional Development Days (PDD), per Unit 2, 
Memorandum of Understanding, Article XIII, Section 13.7., B. 

 
Option “a” is available only for employees who are eligible to be State Bar 
members. Unit 2 employees who are not attorneys are entitled to only option 
“b”. 
 
Your department may prorate PDD for employees who work less than full 
time and/or less than a full year. 
 
PDD must be requested and approved in the same manner as vacation or 
annual leave. 

 
Methods of 
Reimburse-
ment 

Direct payment: Your department may pay membership fees directly to the 
State Bar, following the procedures outlined below. However, use the 
reimbursement method (described in the Reimbursement section below), not 
direct payment, for employees choosing to pay any optional fees (itemized 
on lines 19-23 of the membership dues statement). 
 

a. No later than January 10, 2014 (which is approximately three weeks 
before the February 3, 2014 payment deadline), employees must 
provide the original remittance (coupon) portion of their membership 
dues statement to the person designated by your department to 
handle payment of bar dues. Lines 19 and 20 must show “0” to 
indicate that no optional payments are included, and line 21 
(“Legislative Activity”) and line 22 (“Bar Relations and Elimination of 
Bias”) must show that $5 has been deducted for each of these items. 
Line 23 (“Legal Services Assistance ”) must show that $30 has been 
deducted. 

b. Prepare a list of employees for whom the department is paying State 
Bar dues, batch the coupons, and prepare one check for dues and 
section fees, payable to “California State Bar.” Send the check, list, 
and batched coupons together in one envelope addressed to:  

 
State Bar of California 

Attention: Membership Services 
180 Howard Street 

San Francisco, CA 94105-1639 
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Methods of 
Reimburse-
ment 
Continued 

c. If your department receives an employee’s membership dues 
statement after January 10, 2014, the department still has the option 
to pay the dues directly, or it may reimburse the employee, as 
described below.  

 
Reimbursement: Your department may reimburse individual employees. 
Employees who request reimbursement must include proof of payment, a 
copy of their annual membership dues statement, and a copy of their 
membership card. 

 
Affiliated 
Excluded 
Employee 
Reimburse-
ments 

Excluded employees are entitled to reimbursement for up to $100 annually 
for membership dues of a professional organization or for a job-related 
professional license fee that is directly related to the employee’s professional 
discipline. 

 
Questions The information in this memorandum is based in part on Article 13.7 of the 

Bargaining Unit 2 contract and Title 2, sections 599.921 of the California 
Code of Regulations. 
 
If you have further questions, please direct them to your assigned Labor 
Relations Specialist. 

 
 
 
 
 
ANGIE BOLDRINI, Personnel Officer 
Office of Human Resources 
 
AB:tbw 
 

http://www.calhr.ca.gov/state-hr-professionals/Pages/bargaining-contracts.aspx#bu2
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