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PLEASE ENSURE THIS INFORMATION IS SHARED WITH YOUR EMPLOYEES  
 
Purpose The purpose of this HR Memo is to remind departments of the provisions in 

the California Labor Code sections 1030 through 1033, and of the 
amendments to section 7 of the Fair Labor Standards Act, brought about by 
the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act in March 2010.   

 
Provision 
Require-
ments 

These provisions require employers to provide a reasonable amount of break 
time and an appropriate location to accommodate an employee desiring to 
express breast milk for the employee’s infant child. 
 
Departments are encouraged to develop or review existing lactation 
accommodation guidelines to ensure they are flexible, accommodating, and 
in compliance with current California and federal laws. 

 
 

 
The statutes require that the time allotted for the purpose of expressing 
breast milk run concurrently with any break time already provided to the 
employee, if possible. Typically, a lactating woman will need approximately 
15 to 30 minutes for each session and they may occur every 2 to 3 hours. 
Frequency and duration will vary. While the routine break times provided 
may be sufficient for some women to complete the process, others may need 
additional time. Although law does not require employers to allow employees 
to extend their workday (i.e., begin work earlier or end work later) to make up 
for unpaid break time used for expressing breast milk, departments are 
encouraged to provide flexible scheduling for those employees who choose 
to make up for any unpaid break time. 
 
The statutes further require employers to provide the employee with the use 
of a room or other location in which to express breast milk. The room or 
location must be in close proximity to the employee’s work area, other than a 
restroom, and must be shielded from view and free from intrusion by 
coworkers and the public. The room or location where the employee 
normally works may be used for this purpose if it otherwise meets the 
requirements. 
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Examples of workplace spaces which may be appropriate include a vacant 
office, a woman’s lounge area, a first aid room, a dressing room, or a room 
or office space which can be made available during specific times of the day 
for this purpose. To facilitate privacy, a lock may be added to the door or a 
sign may be posted on the entrance indicating the room is in use. 

 
Violation California law provides that an employer who violates the provisions of this 

statute may be subject to a $100 civil penalty for each violation. 

 
Questions For questions concerning this memorandum, please email questions to 

Lisa.York@dgs.ca.gov . 

 
  
 
 
 
LISA YORK, Personnel Officer 
Office of Human Resources 
 
LY:mo 
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