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Attached for your information is the Department of Personnel Administration’s memorandum 99-064 approving the 2000 State Bar of California dues reimbursement allowances.





Questions regarding this memorandum should be directed to your assigned Personnel Analyst or one of our Labor Relations Staff:  Jinny Munro, Kathy Miras or Judy Otis.














LYNN W. CATANIA, Manager


Personnel Operations Section
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	Kathy Miras


	Judy Otis


	Personnel Analysts
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State of California 





M E M O R A N D U M 








DATE:  December 7, 1999 


								REFERENCE CODE: 99-064 








TO: 		Accounting Officers 


Travel and Relocations Liaisons 


Employee Relations Officers 


Personnel Officers 








FROM: 	Department of Personnel Administration


Labor Relations Division 








SUBJECT: 	State Bar Dues and Professional Leave 








CONTACT: 	Terrie J. Jordan, Statewide Travel Coordinator 


(916) 324-0476, CALNET 454-9377


FAX: (916) 322-0765 


OFFICE VISION: DPA(Terrie Jordan) 


INTERNET: TerrieJordan@dpa.ca.gov 











The Department of Personnel Administration (DPA) is approving the following allowances for reimbursement of 2000 State Bar of California dues. 





AMOUNT PAID FOR STATE BAR MEMBERSHIP FEES 





The State shall pay $390.00 for State Bar of California mandatory membership fees. The State will not pay voluntary fees (i.e., lobbying, foundation and conference of delegates fees). 





The amount paid may be prorated for employees who work less than full-time and for employees who work less than one year. 





The State shall not pay penalties/fined added to, or accumulated because of late payment, except where the State is responsible for late payment of Unit 2 employee dues. (Section 13.7(A) of Unit 2 collective bargaining agreement) 





LOCAL BAR ASSOCIATION MEMBERSHIP AND SPECIALTY (SECTION) DUES/RENEWAL 





The State shall pay for Unit 2 employee membership in one local job-related bar association, or for one job-related specialty section of the State or a local bar, if State Bar membership is required as a condition of employment. The amount paid shall not exceed $100 annually. Non-represented employees may be reimbursed for job-related local or specialty section dues at each appointing power's discretion. The amount paid shall be determined by each appointing power. The amount paid for less than full-time employees shall be prorated. (2 Cal. Code Regs. 599.921) 
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ELIGIBILITY FOR PAYMENT AND PROFESSIONAL LEAVE 





State Bar membership fees, section fees, and local bar association fees will only be paid for Bargaining Unit 2 and excluded employees if State Bar membership is required as a condition of employment. 





If State Bar membership is not required as a condition of employment, rank-and-file employees in Bargaining Unit 2 shall (1) nonetheless receive reimbursement for bar dues; or (2) be provided two days of professional leave without loss of compensation. Inactive bar dues are $50. The choice about whether employees are reimbursed or provided with professional leave shall be at the election of the appointing authority. If a Unit 2 employee is not an active or inactive member of the bar, the only option is to grant two days of professional leave because the employee did not incur membership expenses for which to seek reimbursement





Professional leave may be prorated for Unit 2 employees who work less than full-time and for employees who work less than a full year. Use of professional leave must be requested and approved in the same manner as vacation or annual leave. Professional leave credit shall not carry over from year-to-year.





METHOD OF PAYING BAR, LOCAL ASSOCIATION AND SPECIALTY SECTION FEES 





Departments may reimburse individual employees, or pay membership fees directly to the State Bar on behalf of employees unless an affected employee wishes to pay voluntary fees (i.e., lobbying, conference of delegates and/or foundation fees). Employees electing to pay voluntary fees must pay them along with mandatory dues and section fees, and then seek reimbursement for the latter.





Requests for reimbursement must include proof of payment, a copy of the annual fee statement and a copy of the employee's membership card. 





If the department is paying dues directly to the State Bar:





Affected employees must provide the original remittance (coupon) portion of their bar dues statement to the person designed by the department at least four (4) weeks before the last day upon which the dues become delinquent. Each coupon must include a notation deducting the $5 lobbying fee. Coupons may not indicate payment is being made for foundation or conference of delegate fees (sample attached). THE DEADLINE FOR PAYING DUES IS FEBRUARY 1, 2000. If an employee's bar statement is not received four weeks in advance, then the department may (1) make an exception and still directly pay the employee's dues; or at its option, (2) reimburse the employee for paying dues him/herself. 





The department must prepare a list of employees for whom dues are being paid, batch the coupons, and prepare one check payable to the "California State Bar" for dues and section fees. The check, list and batched coupons should be sent in one envelope to State Bar of California, 180 Howard Street, Attention: Membership Services, San Francisco, 94105. 
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PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATION





Excluded employees are entitled to reimbursement for up to $100 annually for membership in one professional society or for professional society which engages in activities directly related to the employee's professional discipline. (2 Cal. Code Regs. 599.922.2) 














Linda Diane Buzzini


Labor Relations Officer/Counsel 
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