STATE ADMINISTRATIVE MANUAL

Number:
Management Memo MM 06-06

STATE VEHICLE UTILIZATION STANDARDS

JANUARY 31, 2006

EXPIRES:
JANUARY 31, 2007

REFERENCES:

GOVERNMENT CODE §§13332.09, 19993.1-19993.8;
CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS §§599.800-
599.808, 599.626; STATE ADMINISTRATIVE MANUAL

§4105, 4106, 4107, 4108, 4109, AND 8572.4

ISSUING AGENCY:

DEPARTMENT OF
GENERAL SERVICES

Purpose of this
memorandum

1. Notify State agencies that the Department of General Services, Office
of Fleet Administration (DGS, OFA) has increased the State vehicle

minimum-use standards:

FROM

TO

4,000 miles or vehicle use of at least
70% of the available work days
within a six-month period.

6,000 miles or vehicle use of at least
80% of the available work days
within a six-month period—applies

to all State-owned, DGS leased
and/or commercially rented/leased
vehicles.

2. Remind all agency heads, managers and supervisors of their
responsibility to ensure the proper use of State owned/leased vehicles.

This memorandum is an addition to Section 4105 of the State
Administrative Manual.

Who is affected  All State agencies as defined by Government Code §11000. Other State

entities also subject to this law include, but are not limited to:

¢ California State Lottery;

¢ California State University;

e Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office;

e Student Aid Commission,;

e Fair Political Practices Commission;

¢ Public Employment Relations Board,

¢ Public Employees’ Retirement System;

e Prison Industry Authority

e State Teachers’ Retirement System; and,

¢ Any other Executive Branch office, agency, department, commission,
board, association, center, authority, conservancy, corps, program or
system.


http:��13332.09

Background

Optimum
Utilization

DGS is continually seeking new methods to improve the efficiency and
effectiveness of those fleet operations administered by the OFA. During a
recent audit, the Bureau of State Audits (BSA) recognized numerous
improvements initiated by the OFA and made further recommendations the
DGS has embraced. This includes revisiting the minimum-use requirements
for the State fleet (Reference: BSA Report 2004-113).

Additionally, on November 14, 2005, the Senate Select Committee on
Government Cost Control suggested the DGS explore additional methods for
controlling costs and inefficiencies within the State fleet—including raising
the minimum-use standards for the State fleet. The Committee also heard
from the State Auditor who reported of misuse associated with State vehicles
being utilized for non-business purposes in order to meet the State’s
minimum-use standards.

This standard is consistent with the Federal Vehicle Utilization Standards.

Vehicle utilization is vital to the management of the State fleet. It represents a
significant opportunity for avoiding unnecessary costs. After a review of
minimum-use standards established by other State governments and the
Federal government, OFA has determined California’s standard was outdated.

The new standard—6,000 miles or vehicle use of at least 80 percent of the
available work days within a six-month period—provides for vehicles being
driven an average of 45.5 miles per day or used at least 211 work days each
year. This new standard applies to all State-owned, DGS leased, and/or
commercially rented/leased vehicles. This is an increase over the prior
standard of 4,000 miles or use of 70 percent of available work days.

Requests for an exemption to this minimum-use standard must be
submitted in writing to the Chief of the Office of Fleet Administration.
Exemption requests will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

It is strongly recommended that your agency conduct a comprehensive in-
house review of fleet utilization practices. When optimized, these practices
can result in significant cost savings for your agency by rightsizing your fleet
and ensuring proper vehicle use. Carefully consider the following:

¢ Quantity and types of vehicles currently owned or leased by your agency;

e Agency policies (or lack thereof) on the assignment of vehicles to
individuals vs. establishing vehicle pools for general use;

¢ Quantity and necessity for the Home Storage Permits issued by your
agency.




Misn}se of State  The operation of a State vehicle is a highly visible activity that deserves the

Vehicles attention of each State agency. The public’s awareness of these vehicles and
their concern about proper use has been heightened by the current economic
situation. Each State agency should maintain knowledge of the rules and
regulations cited in the reference section of this memorandum, for example:

e State motor vehicles shall be used only in the conduct of State business.

e Commuting in State vehicles is allowed only in compliance with specific
guidelines and all costs must be reimbursed.

e A “Home Storage Permit” is required if a State vehicle is frequently kept
overnight at or in the vicinity of an employee’s home.

e Carrying in the vehicle any persons other than those directly involved with
official State business is prohibited unless permission is obtained in
advance for each trip by the employee’s supervisor.

e State agencies and employees are responsible for properly reporting
personal use of State provided vehicles—considered compensation by the
Internal Revenue Service and Franchise Tax Board.

For additional ~ Richard Shedd, State Fleet Asset Manager
information Department of General Services

regarding this  Office of Fleet Administration
memorandum (916) 327-2083

and QFA Richard.shedd@dgs.ca.gov
oversight

Steve Nielsen, Statewide Mobile Equipment Coordinator
Department of General Services

Office of Fleet Administration

(916) 653-7017

Steve.nielsen@dgs.ca.gov

Original Management Memo signed by Ron Joseph, Director

Signature

Ron Joseph
Director
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