
How to Establish Disabled Veteran Business Enterprise (DVBE) Equipment 
Ownership for Renewal Certifications [M&VC §§ 999.2.b (1), 999.2.c, 
999.2.e] 
 
A DVBEs qualifying Disabled Veteran (DV) must own 51 percent of each piece of 
equipment that will be rented to the State of California.  The DV must establish 
that he or she owns 51 percent of each piece of equipment and have title, 
possession, control, and risk of loss of equipment or be deemed an equipment 
broker or agent.  Contracts awarded to equipment brokers or agents cannot be 
counted towards the three percent (3%) DVBE participation goal.    
 
Documents which establish equipment ownership for DVBE certification renewals must 
include, but are not limited to: 
 
NOTE: If the certification is expired for more than 30 days when the renewal  
application is submitted, you may be required to follow procedures for obtaining  
a new certification. 
 

1. An equipment list identifying equipment by license plate or Special Equipment 
(SE) registration number and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). 

 
2. California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Vehicle Registrations for 

highway legal vehicles not identified during the last certification period. 
 

3. California DMV Certificate of Title or California DMV Title/Transfer Only Receipts 
and SE Registrations for off-highway equipment/vehicles not identified during the 
last certification period.   

 
If you do not have the California DMV Titles or Title/Transfer Only Receipts, refer 
to the note below for further instructions.  See the FFVR 19 Special Equipment 
Brochure (www.dmv.ca.gov) for SE Registrations requirements for special 
construction equipment, special mobile equipment, cemetery equipment, and 
logging vehicles (Vehicle Code-VC § 5011) and cotton trailers, farm trailers, 
water tanks, oversized feed and seed motors vehicles, automatic bale wagons, 
and cotton module movers (VC § 36101).   

 
4. Proof of equipment/vehicle insurance for identified equipment/vehicles. 

 
5. The personal property tax bill and copy of cancelled checks; or a property tax bill 

 stamped paid-in-full by the County Tax Collector.   NOTE: A Vehicle/Vessel Use 
Tax Clearance Request, BOE 106 at www.boe.ca.gov may be required when the 
County Tax Collector has not billed you. 

 
6. Provide Bills of Sale and/or copies of signed loan agreements, which 

identify equipment/vehicles by VIN, and cancelled checks for vehicles not 
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identified during the last certification period.  Bank statements may be 
submitted in the absence of cancelled checks. 

 
7. Copy of signed partnership agreement amendments or corporate bylaw 

amendments or a signed statement under penalty-of-perjury if there were no 
amendments. 

 
8. Equipment rental agreement(s) signed by the DV equipment owner and awarding 

department for the previous certification period. 
 
NOTE: How to obtain a California Certificate of Title: 
 
If you do not have a California Certificate of Title for SE equipment/vehicles in your 
name, and do not have the previously issued California or out-of-state title or 
Manufacturer’s Certificate/Statement of Origin (MCO or MSO) to meet DMV title 
requirements: 

 
a) Contact the previous owner.  The previous owner may have the title or MCO.  

 
b) If you secured a loan, contact the lender.  Request the lender to submit the title 

or MCO to DMV to obtain a California title.  Your lender may also provide you the 
title or MCO to expedite the process.  DMV will issue you a Title/Transfer Only 
receipt.   

 
If your loan has been paid-in-full, find the loan agreement returned to you.  The title 
or MCO may be with this document.  DMV may accept the original loan agreement 
issued from a financial institution stamped paid-in-full when the title or MCO cannot 
be replaced.  A DMV title is also known as a Certificate of Ownership. 

 
c) Request a replacement MCO from a licensed equipment distributor.  The 

MCO will be issued in the name of the owner who purchased the 
equipment when it was new.  Bills of sale must be obtained to 
substantiate the chain of ownership.  

 
d) Follow procedures outlined in HTVR Register Vehicles for Which DMV Has No 

Record (Unavailable Record) at www.dmv.ca.gov. This brochure explains how to 
obtain a title 
if there is no prior title or MCO.  Vehicle verifications are not required for special  
equipment, but are required for most vehicles.   

 
See Bond and Certificates, in the Department of Motor Vehicles, 
Handbook of Registration Procedures (www.dmv.ca.gov\Publications) if 
there is no prior title, MCO, or original loan agreement issued from a 
financial institution stamped paid-in-full.  Pay special attention to Bond 
Requirements when the vehicle/equipment market value is $5,000 or 
more.  There are other forms, in lieu of a bond that may be provided to the 
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Department of Motor Vehicles.  These include a Cash Deposit, Certificate 
of Deposit or Assignment as Security.  The disabled veteran(s) must be 
included as a depositor or assignor to be in compliance with the M&VC 
requirement when any of these options are used. 

 
 
The DMV requirements listed above have been approved by the Vehicle Registration 
Operations Division. If you have any questions regarding titling instructions, please 
contact DMV at 800.777.0133 during normal business hours, or TTY 800.368.4327 if 
hearing impaired.   You may also schedule an appointment to visit your local DMV Field 
Office.  Request Field Office staff to reference MLR 2009-26 and Registration 
Manual 21.030 for processing procedures. 
 
 
Effective March 16, 2009, eProcurement is the new online web-based tool for 
DVBE and SB certification, the California State Contracts Register (CSCR), the 
State Contracting and Procurement Registration System (SCPRS), and the 
statewide Leveraged Procurement Agreements (LPAs).  Each tool has a new 
look and feel.   
 
Receive your FREE California Supplier Registration at www.caleprocure.ca.gov 
 
If you have any questions regarding this notification or requirements to obtain 
DVBE certification, please contact: 
 

The Office of Small Business and DVBE Services 
Procurement Division: 800.375.4400, 2#; 916.375.4940, or  

OSDSHelp@dgs.ca.gov 
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