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Investigation hints at workers? comp trouble

Sacramento Business Journal - by Kelly Johnson Staff writer

When California regulators took their first stab at applying a new tool to fight workers’ compensation fraud, they found a staggering number of companies — almost two of every five — without the required coverage.

The initial survey of 500 California companies found 38 percent had some kind of problem with their workers’ comp insurance, though many later were cleared up. More than one in five didn’t respond to investigators in the early days of the probe. Officials cautioned that the results are preliminary; case-by-case work has lowered the initial numbers, but industry observers say they are far higher than expected.

Investigators are still midway through their first effort under a new workers’ comp enforcement program, mandated by legislation approved last year. As a result, they say, they haven’t yet analyzed the results to identify trends, such as whether geography, industry type or company size are tied to coverage problems. Regulators say they don’t want to draw any broad conclusions from this first sample; instead they’ll wait until they repeat the sampling over several quarters.

By law, investigators are required to report their findings by March.

Legislation approved in 2007 required investigators to cross-reference state databases to zero in on employers flouting the law by not carrying the mandatory insurance to cover workers injured on the job. Of the 500 randomly selected companies that investigators checked in state records beginning in May, 191 — 38 percent — appeared not to have workers’ comp insurance, said John Duncan, director of the California Department of Industrial Relations.

Breaking down the numbers

Investigators for the state’s Insurance Coverage Program then sent letters to the 191 companies, with various responses. Thirteen companies bought coverage, while another 18 insisted they already had coverage but still must provide proof. Thirty-eight companies offered excuses for not having coverage, some valid and some not. The postal service was unable to deliver letters to 15.

Investigators now are focusing on the 107 companies that ignored letters from the state demanding proof of coverage, Duncan said.

The initial finding that 191 companies out of the 500 appeared to lack insurance caused concern, he said. His office works on the assumption that 9 percent to 10 percent of companies don’t have coverage, and further investigation is shrinking the initial number.

That 38 percent “probably overstates the problem,” said Scott Hauge, president of Small Business California, a nonpartisan, grassroots advocacy organization in San Francisco that pushed for more enforcement. The number that “really floored” Hauge was the 107 companies that didn’t respond, he said.

“You get an official letter, and you just ignore it?” Hauge said.

Duncan said even the earliest findings show a “significant lack of compliance still out there in the California economy.”

Bill Zachry, chairman of the state Fraud Assessment Commission, agreed. “What other areas are they not participating in?” asked Zachry, who oversees workers’ comp for Pleasanton-based Safeway Inc. He questioned whether the businesses were part of the so-called underground economy, and whether they pay unemployment taxes.

“It’s a huge opportunity for increased revenue for the state if they’re not paying appropriate taxes,” he said.

Leveling the field

Duncan and other backers of the new program hope that more employers will buy workers’ comp coverage once they learn the state is cracking down. They also want to create a more level playing field for companies that obey the law but compete with businesses that don’t.

“If you’re competing against a business without workers’ comp, clearly they have a competitive edge,” Hauge said.

This enforcement program does not address the cash-only underground economy, but might provide leads to it, Duncan said. Such cash-only companies don’t appear in state agency databases and couldn’t be pulled up as part of this sample.

The probe’s findings might generate creative ideas to make sure employers are insured, such as requiring proof of coverage before they can get a business license, Zachry said.

The Industrial Relations Department is working with others on enforcement, including trade group Workers’ Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau of California, the state Employment Development Department and the Uninsured Employers’ Fund, a pool for injured workers whose employers don’t buy coverage.

Companies that don’t provide workers’ comp for employees can be shut down until they buy insurance and fined $1,000 per employee, up to $100,000.

Regulators fined 2,536 companies a total of $16.6 million last year for not having coverage, up from 1,353 companies and $10.8 million in 2006.

Companies that don’t have employees — such as a mom-and-shop shop with only immediate family members working there — aren’t required to buy workers’ comp, Industrial Relations spokesman Dean Fryer said. Companies that can prove they use independent contractors instead of employees also don’t need the coverage.

Industries that tend to have many companies without coverage include agriculture, construction, restaurants, garment trades, auto body work, car washes and pallet manufacturers.

“That’s where we focus our enforcement efforts in general,” Fryer said.

Investigators will look for patterns from their sample of 500 companies that could lead to further enforcement and a focus on specific industries, he said.
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