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INDEFINITE

Attached for your information is the Department of Personnel Administration's Memorandum 99-068 regarding the extension of coverage health, dental and vision benefits to domestic partners.

If you have specific questions, please contact your assigned Personnel Transactions Specialist or Supervisor in the Office of Human Resources.

LYNN CATANIA, Manager

Personnel Operations

Attachment

cc:
Kim Waits


Personnel Transactions Supervisors


Personnel Transactions Specialist


Personnel Analysts

State of California
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REFERENCE CODE: 99-068 

TO:

Personnel Officers 

Personnel Transactions Supervisors

FROM: 
Department of Personnel Administration 

Benefits Division 

SUBJECT:
Domestic Partner Coverage 

CONTACT: 
Ann McWherter, Health Benefits Advisor

(916) 324-9367, CALNET 454-9367 

FAX: (916) 322-3768 

OFFICE VISION: DPA(AnnMcwherter) 

INTERNET: annmcwherter@dpa.ca.gov 

In accordance with legislation recently signed by the Governor (AB 26, Chapter 588, Statutes of 1999), the Department of Personnel and the exclusive representatives for State bargaining units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, and 21 have agreed to extend domestic partner coverage to State employees for health, dental and vision benefits. DPA will adopt regulations to extend this coverage to excluded employees. 

To be eligible to enroll a domestic partner, the State employee and his or her same-sex partner must file a Declaration of Domestic Partnership in accordance with guidelines established by the Secretary of State's office. For a copy of these guidelines, the employee should contact the Secretary of State's Office at (916) 653-4984. A copy of the form to be used to register the partnership will be available from the Secretary of State's homepage after January 1, 2000. The address is http://www.ss.ca.gov. The form will also be available at the counter of the Secretary of State's Office at 1500 11th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 and the local county clerk's office. 

Once the employee has registered his or her domestic partner, he or she may enroll the partner as an eligible family member in State-sponsored health, dental and vision benefits and receive the increased employer contribution for that coverage. For example, a single-party coverage would increase to a two-party coverage and the employer contribution would increase from $174 per month to $346 per month. The employer who signs up a domestic partner for coverage should be cautioned that although the State employer contribution will be increased, 
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the Federal government does not recognize domestic partner relationships, and the employer contribution increase will be considered taxable income for the employee. 

If an employee elects to cover his or her domestic partner, a Statement of Financial Liability for the Domestic Partner must be completed and included with the appropriate enrollment document. The enrollment document should be completed with the box for spouse checked and spouse lined out and "domestic partner" noted. An approved copy of the Declaration of Domestic Partnership and a copy of the Statement of Financial Liability should be retained in the employee's file. Further instructions on completion of the HBD 12 will be provided by the California Public Employees' Retirement System in the near future.

An employee is also eligible to add the domestic partner's children to the benefit plans if they reside in the employee's home and meet the definition of economic dependents. The employee should complete an Affidavit of Economically Dependent Children in this situation.

It is important to note that the legislation also requires that persons who register a domestic partnership must meet the conditions specified by the Secretary of State. This includes filing a notice of Termination of Domestic Partnership when the relationship has been terminated. At time of termination of the relationship, the employee must also cancel coverage of the domestic partner and any children who were added as a result of the partnership. 

Although this legislation permits an employee to enroll a domestic partner in health, dental and vision benefits, it does not permit the domestic partner to continue those benefits upon the death of the employee. In addition, the bill specifically excludes domestic partners from being considered an eligible family member for purposes of survivor benefits if the partner who is a State employee dies. 

If you have any questions or need additional information, please feel free to contact Ann McWherter at (916) 324- 9367/CalNet 454-9367.

Kathie Vaughn, Chief 

Benefits Division 

cc:
Fred Steinmetz,

Health Benefits Division 

CalPERS 

Don Scheppmann, SCO

