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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 OF PROMPT PAYMENT ISSUE 

 
 
 
 
 
In Fiscal Year 2002 - 2003, the state paid $4.9 million in late payment interest penalties 
to contractors, pursuant to the California Prompt Payment Act (California Government 
Code Section 927 et seq.). 
 
Many of these contractors are small businesses (SB) and disabled veteran business 
enterprises (DVBE) that do not have the financial reserves to buffer late payments.  An 
Administrative directive to increase state contracting with California SB/DVBE firms has 
heightened state executive management’s attention to this prompt payment issue. 
 
According to Department of General Services (DGS) statistics, the biggest cause for 
payment delays is that “end users” who receive goods and services do not approve and 
forward invoices to accounting offices in a timely manner.  The Prompt Payment Act 
(copy attached) requires payment of an undisputed invoice within 45 days of receipt at 
the location identified in the purchase document as “billed to” or “invoice 
submitted to” for payment.  If the invoice is not date-stamped upon receipt, the 45-day 
cycle begins on the date the contractor issued/prepared the invoice.  Still, many end 
users delay this administrative work in lieu of their program work, although the firms, with 
which they have contracted for goods and services to help accomplish their goals, have 
delivered on time and in good faith.   
 
 
With executive management support, invoices can be processed timely and fewer 
contractors will become frustrated with the bureaucracy, the state will save money, and 
more quality businesses will want to participate as state partners. 
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SUMMARY AND DIRECTORY 
OF PROMPT PAYMENT ACT 

This summary of California Government 
Code, Section 927, is a reference that 
answers FAQ’s about what is specifically 
required of agencies regarding payments to 
contractors (www.pd,dgs.ca.gov.  Select 
“Prompt Payment Program, then click “Go”). 
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CONTRACTOR FAQ 

In addition to the Summary and the Directory 
(at www.pd,dgs.ca.gov.  Select “Prompt 
Payment Program, then click “Go”).  Use this 
section to assist contractors who request 
help navigating state invoice and payment 
processes, and to clarify proper expectations 
for state payment timeliness. 
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STATE DEPARTMENT FAQ 

In addition to the Summary (at 
www.pd.dgs.ca.gov.  Select “Prompt 
Payment Program, then click “Go”).  Use this 
section to provide information to 
departmental staff about the Act, and to 
clarify requirements of the law and the 
Legislature’s intentions. 

   
4 SAMPLE FLOWCHART OF 

INVOICE PROCESS 
This is an “at a glance” look at the typical 
state invoice payment process. 

   
5 EXCERPT FROM THE STATE 

ADMINISTRATIVE MANUAL 
CHAPTER 8400, 
DISBURSEMENTS, PENALTY 
CALCULATION PROCESS 

This is a copy of the SAM section that 
instructs state departments on how to 
calculate late payment penalty amounts.  An 
example calculation is included. 

   
6 CALIFORNIA GOVERNMENT 

CODE SECTION 927, THE 
CALIFORNIA PROMPT ACT 

Contains full text of the law. 
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CALIFORNIA PROMPT PAYMENT ACT 
GOVERNMENT CODE, SECTION 927, STATUTES OF 1999 

SUMMARY 

Dept. of General Services   
Procurement Division 

 
 

 
Frequently Asked Questions 

Small Business (Incl. Non-Profits with 
Contracts <$500k and Gross Receipts 

<$5m 

 
All Other Businesses 

When is payment due? 
• Specified contract term 
• No date set forth in contract 

 
Date set forth in contract (GC 927.1a) 
and within 45 calendar days (GC 927b) 

 
Date set forth in contract (GC 927.1) 
and within 45 calendar days (GC 927b)

When does payment clock start? The date of receipt of an undisputed 
invoice by department personnel is equal 
to Day Zero (GC 927 & 927.4). 

The date of receipt of an undisputed 
invoice by department personnel is 
equal to Day Zero (GC 927 & 927.4). 

What if invoice is disputed (for good 
cause) within 15 working days? 

Stops penalty clock until dispute 
resolved (GC 927.3) 

Stops penalty clock until dispute 
resolved (GC 927.3) 

When do penalties begin accruing? 
• State agency 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

• State Controller 

 
 
The day after payment due date per 
contract; if no payment date in contract, 
on the 31st day after receipt of invoice 
(i.e., the day after the “required 
payment approval date”) (GC 927.4) 
Example: An invoice received on March 1st 
would begin accruing interest on April 1st if 
not submitted to the State Controller on or 
before March 31st (Day Zero = 3/1 plus 30 
days = 3/31). 
 
On the 16th day after receipt of the state 
agency claim (GC 927.4) 

 
 
The day after payment due date per 
contract; if no payment date in 
contract, on the 31st day after receipt of 
invoice (i.e., the day after the 
“required payment approval date”) 
(GC 927.4) 
Example: An invoice received on March 1st 
would begin accruing interest on April 1st if 
not submitted to the State Controller on or 
before March 31st (Day Zero = 3/1 plus 30 
days = 3/31). 
 
On the 16th day after receipt of the 
state agency claim (GC 927.4) 

When do penalties stop accruing? 
• State agency 

 
 

• State Controller 

 
The day claim schedule is submitted to 
Controller (GC 927.6a) or check is 
issued from Revolving Fund. 
 
The date warrant is issued (GC 927.7) 

 
The day claim schedule is submitted to 
Controller (GC 927.6a) or check is 
issued from Revolving Fund. 
 
The date warrant is issued (GC 927.7) 

What is the penalty rate? 0.25% per calendar day (GC 927.6a) 
(Factor per day = 0.0025) 

PMIA plus 1% (not to exceed 15%) 
(GC 927.6b); the 2005-2006 rate is 
3.256% 
(Factor per day = 0.0000892) 

Is a separate penalty invoice 
required? 

No; departments must automatically 
calculate and pay penalties as incurred 
(GC 927b & 927.6a) 

No; departments must automatically 
calculate and pay penalties as incurred 
(GC 927b & 927.6a) 

Is there a minimum payment? No minimum (GC 927.6a) No payment under $75.00 (GC 927.6b)
Can penalties be waived? Penalties may not be waived, altered, or 

limited by the state agency or the 
contractor (GC 927.1b) except for non-
profits when there is no budget (GC 
927.11b), and declaration of major 
disaster (GC 927.11c) 

Penalties may not be waived, altered, 
or limited by the state agency or the 
contractor (GC 927.1b) except for fire 
season emergency (GC 927.11a), and 
declaration of major disaster (GC 
927.11c) 

What if there is no Budget Act? Penalties shall accrue to small 
businesses until invoice is paid (GC 
927.11d); non-profits will not be paid 
penalties (GC 927.11b) 

Penalties shall accrue until the invoice 
is paid (GC 927.11d) 
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CALIFORNIA PROMPT PAYMENT ACT 
GOVERNMENT CODE, SECTION 927, STATUTES OF 1999 

SUMMARY 

Dept. of General Services   
Procurement Division 

 
 

Frequently Asked Questions 
Small Business (Incl. Non-Profits with 
Contracts <$500k and Gross Receipts 

<$5m 

 
All Other Businesses 

Are penalties applicable to: 
• Medi-Cal Claims? 

 
 

• Advances? 
 

• Non-profit organizations? 
• Local entities? 

 
 
 
How about subcontractors? 

 
Yes (GC 927.5), when such small 
businesses are located in California (GC 
927.2j) 
The law makes no provisions for 
advances 
 
Yes, if contract <$500,000 (GC 927.7) 
No, the law specifically refers to 
“contracts with a business” (GC 927.1) 
rather than with public entities as defined 
in GC 811.2 
Agencies shall encourage contractors to 
promptly pay their subcontractors (GC 
927.10) 

 
Special provisions apply (GC 927.5) 
 
 
The law makes no provisions for 
advances 
 
No (GC 927a) 
No, the law specifically refers to 
“contracts with a business” (GC 927.1) 
rather than with public entities as 
defined in GC 811.2 
Agencies shall encourage contractors 
to promptly pay their subcontractors 
(GC 927.10) 

Are there any exceptions? No exceptions 1. 30-day payment extension in a 
declared fire season emergency 
(GC 927.11a); 

2. In major calamity, disaster or 
criminal act, penalty suspended 
(until reinstated) by Director of 
Finance (GC 927.11c) 

Are any reports required? Annual report (identifying number of 
penalty payments and dollar amount) to 
the Director of DGS 90 days after the 
end of the fiscal year (GC 927.9) 

Annual report (identifying number of 
penalty payments and dollar amount) 
to the Director of DGS 90 days after 
the end of the fiscal year (GC 927.9) 

 
 
Please see additional information at our web site: www.pd.dgs.ca.gov/promptpay/  
 

• Select Prompt Payment Toolkit for detailed information and more. 
• Select Directory of State Payment Offices to locate the proper accounts payable telephone number and 

address of specific State offices. 
• To view California Laws, including Government Code (GC) and Public Contract Code (PCC), please go to 

www.leginfo.ca.gov. 
• Regarding Construction Contract Payments, please see Public Contract Code Section 10261.5 at 

www.leginfo.ca.gov. 
• Contractors who have specific questions about invoice status:  Please contact the Small Business Advocate 

for the subject department.  The Small Business/DVBE Advocates Directory is located at:  
www.pd.dgs.ca.gov/smbus. 

 
More questions?  Feel free to contact:   

Lea Fox at (916) 375-4351 and lea.fox@dgs.ca.gov
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PROMPT PAYMENT PROGRAM 
ADVOCACY 

CONTRACTOR FAQ’S 
 
The role of the Prompt Payment Advocate is to assist contractors who request 
help navigating state invoice and payment processes and to clarify the 
requirements of the California Prompt Payment Act.  State payment procedures 
are not always obvious to contractors and they can become confused and 
frustrated by this lack of understanding.  Although each state department has its 
own accounting processes, there are some basic requirements for processing 
invoices to payment that are consistent across most departments (see Sample 
Flowchart of Invoice Process). 
 
Here are some of the questions most frequently asked by contractors, in addition 
to those addressed in the Summary, along with appropriate answers: 
 

QUESTION ANSWER 
  
How can I find out when 
my invoice will be paid? 

You will find a link to the Directory of State of California Payment 
Offices in our Prompt Payment Program website at:  
www.pd.dgs.ca.gov.  Select “Prompt Payment Program” from the 
pull-down search window then click on “Go.”  Look up the 
contracting department in the Directory and telephone the 
appropriate accounting office.  Ask the staff two questions:  1) 
When can I expect payment of my invoice #NNN? (Be prepared to 
fax a copy) and; 2) If late payment penalties are owed to me, can I 
expect to receive them included with the invoice payment or will 
they be coming to me in a separate check?  Document these 
answers, including the name of the employee and the date you 
had the conversation, so that you can follow-up at a later date 
should that be necessary.   
 
Note:  It may be necessary or helpful to summarize the Act:  
Basically, the Act requires payment of an undisputed, properly 
submitted invoice within 45 calendar days of invoice receipt, or 
delivery or acceptance of the subject goods or services, whichever 
is later, to avoid accruing late payment penalty interest.  Direct the 
contractor to the linked Summary of the Prompt Payment Act, also 
within the Prompt Payment Program website, which provides 
answers to questions frequently asked about the Act, including the 
current penalty interest rates, the impact of an Invoice Dispute 
Notification, minimum penalty payments, etc. 

  
Are all state departments 
subject to the Act? 

No.  These entities are not subject to the Act: 
• The University of California system 
• The California State Universities 
• The Judicial Branch (e.g., Courts) 
• The Legislative Branch 

  
Does the Act apply to local 
agencies? 

No.  The Act applies only to contracts between a state department 
and a business. 
Note:  When a contractor is researching whom to contact 
regarding payment on a local agency (i.e., school district, city, 
county, etc.) contract, suggest they locate and telephone the 
entity’s accounts payable office. 
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PROMPT PAYMENT PROGRAM 
ADVOCACY 

CONTRACTOR FAQ’S 
 

QUESTION ANSWER 
  
What if my invoice was 
scheduled for payment by 
the department with the 
SCO more than 15 days 
ago and I have not yet 
received the check? 

It is not appropriate for the contractor to contact the SCO directly.  
Rather, ask the accounts payable staff of the submitting 
department to trace the warrant from its issue date.  If necessary, 
the SCO will stop payment on the missing warrant and issue a 
new one; this may take several weeks. 

  
If my unpaid invoice was 
submitted in a prior fiscal 
year and my company is 
not certified as a small 
business, how can I 
determine which penalty 
interest rate to apply? 

The penalty rate factor for non-small businesses changes each 
fiscal year.  The Dept. of Finance (DOF) sets the Pooled Money 
Investment Account (PMIA) rate annually on June 30th and adds 
one percent to it to arrive at the rate at which late payment 
penalties are to be calculated by state departments. The rate 
differs each year because it is dependent upon the relative 
average rate of pooled investment markets. 
The penalty interest rate for non-small businesses: 
• In FY 2001 – 2002 = 7.104% (Factor per day = 0.0001946) 
• In FY 2002 – 2003 = 4.445% (Factor per day = 0.0001218) 
• In FY 2003 – 2004 = 3.152% (Factor per day = 0.0000864) 
• In FY 2004 – 2005 = 2.532% (Factor per day = 0.0000694) 
• In FY 2005 – 2006 = 3.256% (Factor per day = 0.0000892) 
The minimum late payment penalty must be $75.00 or it is waived.  
See Late Payment Penalty Calculation Example attached. 

  
How do I calculate the 
amount of the late 
payment penalty I believe I 
am owed? 

Refer to SAM Section 8474.3, Penalty Calculation, for instructions 
and a copy of the form, Std. 208, used by state departments to 
calculate late payment penalties.  See copy and an example, 
attached. 

  
I supplied goods/services 
to the Dept. of Forestry 
during fire season.  Does 
this make a difference? 

Yes, if the business is not certified as small or a nonprofit corp.  
The 45-day requirement is extended by 30 days for non-small 
businesses during fire season, which is established by the Director 
of CDFF each year. 

  
If payment is due to me 
while there is no Budget 
Act and the payment is 
late, do late penalties still 
accrue?  

Yes, unless the contractor is a nonprofit public benefit corporation. 

  
I received payment directly 
from the department, not 
the SCO, between 30 and 
45 days after invoice 
receipt.  Are late penalties 
due? 

No, as long as payment is issued within a total of 45 days, 
regardless of it’s being processed by the SCO or from the 
department’s revolving fund. 

  
My invoice was disputed 
and now the dispute is 
resolved.  When does the 
45-day processing period 
begin? 

Day Zero of the payment process time clock is the date the 
dispute is resolved. 
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PROMPT PAYMENT PROGRAM 
ADVOCACY 

STATE DEPARTMENT FAQ’S 
 
 
The role of the Prompt Payment Advocate is to provide information to 
departmental staff about the California Prompt Payment Act and to clarify how 
the requirements of the Act impact state payment processes. 
 
State departmental employees aren’t always privy to current requirements of the 
Act and may misunderstand how to apply the law to their payment processes.  
Experience shows this is especially evident when the Legislature delays passing 
the annual budget for the state.  Although each state department has its own 
accounting processes, there are some basic requirements for processing 
invoices to payment that are consistent across most departments (see Sample 
Flowchart of Invoice Process). 
 
Here are some of the questions most frequently asked by departments, along 
with appropriate answers: 
 

QUESTION ANSWER 
  
Does the Act pertain to 
utility company bills? 

No.  Per SAM 8474.1(o):  “Other Payments:  State agencies that 
pay invoices that also include late payment charges (e.g., Pacific 
Bell invoices with Public Utilities Commission approved late 
payment charges) shall pay those late charges only.  A contractor 
is entitled to only one penalty if an invoice is paid late.”  Schedule 
Cal PUC No. D & R, 18th Revised Sheet 33, Rule 10 states:  
“…The late payment date will not be less than 22 days from the 
postmark date on the billing envelope…” 

  
When do penalties begin 
accruing? 

This question appears on the Summary but the answer is 
misunderstood at times.  To further clarify:  Invoice receipt date is 
equal to Day Zero.  Example:  An invoice received on 3/1 would 
begin accruing interest on 4/1 if not submitted to the SCO on or 
before 3/31 (3/1 plus 30 days = 3/31). 

  
How do I calculate the 
amount of a late payment 
penalty due a contractor? 

Refer to SAM Section 8474.3, Penalty Calculation, for instructions 
and a copy of the form, Std. 208, used by state departments to 
calculate late payment penalties.  See copy and an example, 
attached. 

  
If we issue payment 
directly to the contractor 
from our revolving fund 
after 30 days but before 45 
days has elapsed, do we 
owe late penalties? 

No, as long as the check is issued within 45 days total from receipt 
of the invoice (or delivery and acceptance of goods/services if later 
than invoice receipt). 

  
If we expedite processing 
by the SCO after 30 days 
so that the contractor is 
paid within 45 days total, 
do we owe late penalties? 

No. 
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PROMPT PAYMENT PROGRAM 
ADVOCACY 

STATE DEPARTMENT FAQ’S 
 
 

QUESTION ANSWER 
  
Does the Act pertain to the 
late payment of rents, 
when no invoice is issued? 

Yes.  Rent is due on the date set forth in the contract or lease.  If 
payment is not made by that date, penalties accrue.  Example:  
Rent for June is due on July 1.  A claim schedule should be 
submitted to the SCO for payment by July 1.  If not, penalties 
would accrue until the claim is submitted to the SCO.  

  
When the Small Business 
Certification status of a 
business changes during 
the invoice payment 
process, and payment is 
late, does this affect the 
late penalty calculation? 

Yes.  The status of the firm’s small business certification on the 
required payment approval date of an invoice governs the penalty 
rate used in the calculation of any late payment penalties due.  If a 
specific payment date is not prescribed in the contract, the 
required payment approval date is 30 days after receipt of a valid, 
undisputed invoice, or the date the subject Claim Schedule is 
submitted to the Controller, whichever date is earliest. 

  
Must an invoice from a 
small business contain the 
small business stamp to 
qualify as such? 

No.  It is the responsibility of each state department to ascertain 
whether or not an invoice has been submitted by a qualified small 
business. 
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PROMPT PAYMENT ADVOCACY 
LATE PAYMENT PENALTY CALCULATION 

SAM - Chapter 8400 
   
 

 8474.3     PENALTY CALCULATION 
(Revised 9/02) 

Whenever a State agency or the SCO determines a penalty is due, the rate for small businesses 
shall be 0.25 percent per calendar day.  This rate does not change.  The rate for all other 
businesses shall be one percent above the rate accrued on June 30 of the prior year by the PMIA, 
not to exceed 15 percent.  This rate changes annually; therefore, the PMIA rate is communicated to 
State agencies via a Budget Letter (BL).  For the latest BL on late payment penalty rates, refer to 
the DOF website: http://www.dof.ca.gov/html/budlettr/budlets.htm

The penalty will be calculated as follows: 

Step 1. Determine The "Required Payment Approval Date": This is the last calendar day before 
interest starts to accrue (i.e., the payment date specified in the contract or 30 calendar days after 
the date State agency receives an undisputed invoice).   

Step 2. Amount Subject To Penalty:  The gross amount of the invoice less sales tax is the 
amount subject to the penalty. 

Step 3. Penalty Per Day:  Multiply the amount subject to penalty (as determined in Step 2) by the 
applicable penalty interest factor per day as specified in the BL. 

Step 4. Number Of Days Penalized:  The number of calendar days between the approval date (as 
determined in Step 1) and the date a correct claim schedule is submitted to the SCO. 

Step 5. Late Payment Penalty Amount:  Multiply the amount (as determined in Step 3) by the 
number of days penalized (as determined in Step 4). The result is the late payment penalty amount 
due to the contractor; except that penalty amounts of $75 or less shall not be paid to an entity that is 
not a small business.  See Penalty Requirements–Other Businesses in SAM Section 8474.2(B). 

See SAM Section 8474.3 ILLUSTRATION 1 for samples of late payment penalty calculations. 

When a late payment penalty is incurred, a completed Penalty Calculation worksheet, STD. 208 
must be attached to the related invoice submitted to the SCO.  See SAM Section 8474.3 
ILLUSTRATION 2. 

Any invoice included in a claim schedule the SCO determines is subject to a claim correction shall 
be deemed to be improperly submitted and the State agency shall be responsible for the penalty 
incurred on the invoice. 

   

8474.3
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PROMPT PAYMENT ADVOCACY 
LATE PAYMENT PENALTY CALCULATION 

 
 
 
 
 

EXAMPLE: 
 
 
 
At the non-small business penalty interest rate for Fiscal Year 2001 - 2002: 
 

$100 invoice X 0.0001946 factor per day  =  $.02 per day 
 
$.02 X number of days late  =  amount of penalty 
 
If it takes 90 days to pay the $100 invoice: 
 

90 days less 45 days  =  45 days late 
 
$.02 X 45 days  =  $.90 in penalty interest 
 
 

Put another way: 
 

A $6,423.43 invoice is paid 60 days late; 
Then 
$6,423.43 X  0.0001946  =  $1.25 per day X 60 days  =  $75.00 
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CALIFORNIA CODES GOVERNMENT CODE 
SECTION 927-927.12  
 
927. (a) This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the California Prompt Payment Act 
(b) It is the intent of the Legislature that state agencies pay properly submitted, undisputed invoices within 
45 days of receipt, or automatically calculate and pay the appropriate late payment penalties as specified in 
this chapter. 
(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, this chapter shall apply to all state agencies, including, but 
not limited to, the Public Employees' Retirement System, the State Teachers' Retirement System, the 
Treasurer, and the Department of General Services. 
 
927.1. (a) A state agency that acquires property or services pursuant to a contract with a business, including 
any approved change order or contract amendment, shall make payment to the person or business on the 
date required by the contract and as required by Section 927.4 or be subject to a late payment penalty. 
(b) Except in the event of an emergency as provided in Section 927.11, effective January 1, 1999, the late 
payment penalties specified in this chapter may not be waived, altered, or limited by a state agency 
acquiring property or services pursuant to a contract or by any person or business contracting with a state 
agency to provide property or services.  
 
927.2. The following definitions apply to this chapter:   (a) "Claim schedule" means a schedule of invoices 
prepared and submitted by a state agency to the Controller for payment to the named claimant. 
(b) "Invoice" means a bill or claim that requests payment on a contract under which a state agency acquires 
property or services. 
(c) "Medi-Cal program" means the program established pursuant to Chapter 7 (commencing with Section 
14000) of Part 3 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code. 
(d) "Nonprofit public benefit corporation" means a corporation, as defined by subdivision (b) of Section 
5046 of the Corporations Code, that has registered with the Department of General Services as a small 
business. 
(e) "Reasonable cause" means a determination by a state agency that any of the following conditions are 
present: 

(1) There is a discrepancy between the invoice or claimed amount and the provisions of the contract. 
(2) There is a discrepancy between the invoice or claimed amount and either the contractor's actual 

delivery of property or services to the state or the state's acceptance of those deliveries. 
(3) Additional evidence supporting the validity of the invoice or claimed amount is required to be 

provided to the state agency by the contractor. 
(4) The invoice has been improperly executed or needs to be corrected by the contractor. 
(5) The state agency making the determination or the contractor involved has been subject to a 

computing or accounting failure related to the Year 2000 Problem 
(f) "Required payment approval date" means the date on which payment is due as specified in a contract or, 
if a specific date is not established by the contract, 30 calendar days following the date upon which an 
undisputed invoice is received by a state agency.  
(g) "Received by a state agency" means the date an invoice is delivered to the state location or party 
specified in the contract or, if a state location or party is not specified in the contract, wherever otherwise 
specified by the state agency. 
(h) "Revolving fund" means a fund established pursuant to Article 5 (commencing with Section 16400) of 
Division 4 of Title 2. 
(i) "Small business" means a business certified as a "small business" in accordance with subdivision (c) of 
Section 14837. 
(j) "Small business" and "nonprofit organization" mean, in reference to providers under the Medi-Cal 
program, a business or organization that meets all of the following criteria: 

(1) The principal office is located in California. 
(2) The officers, if any, are domiciled in California. 
(3) If a small business, it is independently owned and operated 
(4) The business or organization is not dominant in its field of operation. 
(5) Together with any affiliates, the business or organization has gross receipts from business 

operations that do not exceed three million dollars ($3,000,000) per year, except that the Director 



of Health Services may increase this amount if the director deems that this action would be in 
furtherance of the intent of this chapter. 

(k) "Year 2000 Problem" has the same meaning as that set forth in subdivision (a) of Section 3269 of the 
Civil Code. 
 
927.3. Except where payment is made directly by a state agency pursuant to Section 927.6, any undisputed 
invoice received by a state agency shall be submitted to the Controller for payment by the required payment 
approval date. A state agency may dispute an invoice submitted by a contractor for reasonable cause if the 
state agency notifies the contractor within 15 working days from receipt of the invoice, or delivery of the 
property or services, whichever is later. No state employee shall dispute an invoice, on the basis of minor or 
technical defects, in order to circumvent or avoid the general intent or any of the specific provisions of this 
chapter. 
 
927.4. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, to avoid late payment penalties, the maximum time 
from state agency receipt of an undisputed invoice to issuance of a warrant for payment is 45 calendar days, 
including not more than 30 calendar days from the state agency to submit a correct claim schedule to the 
Controller, and not more than 15 calendar days for the Controller to issue the warrant. 
 
927.5. This chapter shall not apply to claims for reimbursement for health care services provided under the 
Medi-Cal program, unless the Medi-Cal health care services provider is a small business or nonprofit 
organization. In applying this section to claims submitted to the state, or its fiscal intermediary, by 
providers of services or equipment under the Medi-Cal program, payment for claims shall be due 30 days 
after a claim is received by the state or its fiscal intermediary, unless reasonable cause for nonpayment 
exists. With regard to Medi-Cal claims, reasonable cause shall include review of claims to determine 
medical necessity, review of claims for providers subject to special prepayment fraud and abuse controls, 
and claims that require review by the fiscal intermediary or State Department of Health Services due to 
special circumstances, including, but not limited to, the Year 2000 Problem. Claims requiring special 
review as specified above shall not be eligible for a late payment penalty. 
 
927.6. (a) State agencies shall pay applicable penalties, without requiring that the contractor submit an 
additional invoice for these amounts, whenever the state agency fails to submit a correct claim schedule to 
the Controller by the required payment approval date. The penalty shall cease to accrue on the date the state 
agency submits the claim schedule to the Controller for payment, and shall be paid for out of the state 
agency's funds. If the contractor is a certified small business, a nonprofit organization, a nonprofit public 
benefit corporation, or a small business or nonprofit organization that provides services or equipment under 
the Medi-Cal program, the state agency shall pay to the contractor a penalty of 0.25 percent of the amount 
due, per calendar day, from the required payment date. However, a nonprofit organization shall only be 
eligible to receive a penalty payment if it has been awarded a contract in an amount less than five hundred 
thousand dollars ($500,000). 
(b) For all other businesses, the state agency shall pay a penalty at a rate of 1 percent above the rate accrued 
on June 30 of the prior year by the Pooled Money Investment Account, not to exceed a rate of 15 percent, 
except that, if the amount of the penalty is seventy-five dollars ($75) or less, the penalty shall be waived 
and not paid by the state agency. On an exception basis, state agencies may avoid payment of penalties, for 
failure to submit a correct claim schedule to the Controller by the required payment approval date, by 
paying the contractor directly, from the state agency's revolving fund within 45 calendar days following the 
date upon which an undisputed invoice is received by the state agency. 
 
927.7. The Controller shall pay contractors within 15 calendar days of receipt of a correct claim schedule 
from the state agency. If the Controller fails to make payment within 15 calendar days of receipt of the 
claim schedule from a state agency, the Controller shall pay applicable penalties to the contractor without 
requiring that the contractor submit an invoice for these amounts. Penalties shall cease to accrue on the date 
full payment is made, and shall be paid for out of the Controller's funds. If the contractor is a certified small 
business, a nonprofit organization, a nonprofit public benefit corporation, or a small business or nonprofit 
organization that provides services or equipment under the Medi-Cal program, the Controller shall pay to 
the contractor a penalty of 0.25 percent of the amount due, per calendar day, from the 16th calendar day 
following receipt of the claim schedule from the state agency. However, a nonprofit organization shall only 



be eligible to receive a penalty payment if it has been awarded a contract in an amount less than five 
hundred thousand dollars ($500,000). For all other businesses, the Controller shall pay penalties at a rate of 
1 percent above the rate accrued on June 30 of the prior year by the Pooled Money Investment Account, not 
to exceed a rate of 15 percent, except that, if the amount of the penalty is seventy-five dollars ($75) or less, 
the penalty shall be waived and not paid by the Controller. 
 
927.8. State agencies shall avoid seeking any additional appropriation to pay penalties that accrue as a 
result of the agency' s failure to make timely payments as required by this chapter. Any state agency that 
requests that the Legislature make a deficiency appropriation for the agency shall identify what portion, if 
any, of the requested amount is required because of any penalties imposed by this chapter. 
 
927.9. (a) On an annual basis, within 90 calendar days following the end of each fiscal year, state agencies 
shall provide the Director of General Services with a report on late payment penalties that were paid by the 
state agency in accordance with this chapter during the preceding fiscal year. 
(b) At a minimum, the report shall identify the total number and dollar amount of late payment penalties 
paid. State agencies may, at their own initiative, provide the director with other relevant performance 
measures. The director shall prepare a report listing the number and total dollar amount of all late payment 
penalties paid by each state agency during the preceding fiscal year, together with other relevant 
performance measures, and shall make the information available to the public. 
 
927.10. State agencies shall encourage contractors to promptly pay their subcontractors and suppliers, 
especially those that are small businesses. In furtherance of this policy, state agencies shall utilize expedited 
payment processes to enable faster payment by prime contractors to their subcontractors and suppliers, and 
shall promptly respond to any subcontractor or supplier inquiries regarding the status of payments made to 
prime contractors. 
 
927.11. (a) Except in the case of a contract with a certified small business, a nonprofit organization or a 
nonprofit public benefit corporation, if an invoice from a business under a contract with the Department of 
Forestry and Fire Protection would become subject to late payment penalties during the annually declared 
fire season, as declared by the Director of Forestry and Fire Protection, then the required payment approval 
date shall be extended by 30 calendar days. 
(b) No nonprofit public benefit corporation shall be eligible for a late payment penalty if a state agency 
fails to make timely payment because no Budget Act has been enacted. 
(c) If the Director of Finance determines that a state agency or the Controller is unable to promptly pay an 
invoice as provided for by this chapter due to a major calamity, disaster, or criminal act, then otherwise 
applicable late payment penalty provisions contained in Section 927.7 shall be suspended except as they 
apply to a contractor which is either a certified small business, a nonprofit organization, a nonprofit public 
benefit corporation, or a small business or nonprofit organization that provides services or equipment under 
the Medi-Cal program. The suspension shall remain in effect until the Director of Finance determines that 
the suspended late payment penalty provisions of this section should be reinstated. 
(d) Except as provided in subdivision (b), in the event a state agency fails to make timely payment because 
no Budget Act has been enacted, penalties shall continue to accrue until the time that the invoice is paid. 
 
927.12. Section 926.10 shall not apply to any contract covered by this chapter.  
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