NEW LEGISLATION FOR 2005

The following is a brief description of legislation affecting procurement and
contracting that took effect January 1, 2005. See the link at
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/ for complete copies of the chaptered bills.

Chapter 409,
Statutes of

2004
AB 79 (Dutra)

Places a moratorium on specific reports required by statute.

The moratorium applies to the following reports required to be submitted to the
Department of General Services Procurement Division (DGS-PD):
= Level of Participation of Business Enterprises (PCC §10116)
= Level of Participation by Minority, Women and DVBEs (GC § 11139.8)
Note: DVBE reporting still required by other statutes.
Pharmaceutical Purchases (GC § 14981)
Recycled Product Purchases (PCC § 12225)
Alternative Protest Pilot (PCC § 12129)
Records Management (GC § 14760)

The following reports are still required to be submitted to the DGS-PD:
= Small Business Participation (GC § 14840)
= DVBE Participation (M&VC & 999.7)
= Consulting Services Report (PCC § 10359)
| |

Late Payment Penalty Information (GC § 927.9)

Chapter 359,
Statutes of

2004
AB 323 (Parra)

Allows for nonprofit veteran services agencies (NVSA), as defined, to qualify for
certification as a California certified small business through DGS-PD, Office of
Small and DVBE Services (OSDS).

Chapter 802, Requires state agencies to consider performance-based or share-in-savings
Statutes of contract terms for contracts related to information technology integration or

2004 development projects. Such contract considerations must be approved by the
AB 2120 DGS-PD prior to incorporating such techniques into ongoing or new acquisitions.
(Committee on

Budget)

Chapter 277, Increases the time a TACPA/EZA/LAMBRA contractor my be ineligible to transact
Statutes of business with the state to a period of from 6 months to 36 months for specified
2004) grounds, including unsatisfactory contract performance, unwillingness to honor a

AB 2397 (Horton)

binding bid or contract, and multiple strikes. Authorizes the DGS to temporarily
remove from the list of qualified bidders a bidder or supplier that has
demonstrated a lack of reliability in completing contracts for a period of 6 to 36
months (increased from 360 days). Provides for an increased penalty for a
business that requests a preference and is awarded a contract by reason of
having furnished false certification. They are now subject to ineligibility to transact
any business with the State for a period of from 6 to 36 months.




Chapter 891,
Statutes of

2004
AB 2901 (Pavley)

Establishes the requirement that cell phone sellers in the State have a system to
reuse, recycle or properly dispose of used cell phones. Requires State agencies
that purchase or lease cell phones to require each prospective bidder to certify
that it, and all its affiliates, comply with the requirements of the Cell Phone
Recycling Act of 2004.

Chapter 863,
Statutes of

2004
SB 50 (Sher)

Effective January 1, 2005 requires retailers to collect an electronic waste
(e-waste) recycling fee on all covered electronic devices sold in California. The
DGS is working with the California Integrated Waste Management Board to
implement this law. For more information visit the following website:
http://www.erecycle.org.

Chapter 926,

Statues of 2004
SB 1757
(Denham)

Requires that the DGS investigate and establish the necessity for the acquisition
of motor vehicles for executive branch agencies and the California State
University prior to their purchase. The DGS Procurement Division and the Office
of Fleet Administration are working to implement this legislation. Information will
be disseminated by Management Memo and/or broadcast bulletin as it becomes
available.




